Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

First monitoring of treated broad-leaved paperbarks!

On December 6 and 11, 2019, the GEPOG teams carried out the first monitoring follow-up of the 200 broad-leaved paperbarks treated in November.

Broad-leaved paperbark monospecific forest © GEPOG

Broad-leaved paperbarks

The broad-leaved paperbark is considered one of the most problematic invasive exotic plant species for the conservation of Guyana’s coastal savannas. Imported from Australia, this species darkens open spaces and invades savannahs. Its ability to resist fires and produce more than 20,000,000 seeds per year makes broad-leaved paperbark a formidable and invasive species, threatening the Guyanese savannahs.

The protocol

In order to know the optimal management method to correctly manage this species, GEPOG carried out management tests in November on 200 individuals of broad-leaved paperbarks. Thus, all the trees identified were cut, annealed and treated with different herbicides. Follow-up is therefore carried out regularly to ensure the efficiency of the protocols in place.
This operation, carried out on Space Center grounds within the framework of Life BIODIV’OM, aims in 2020 to highlight the most effective methods for managing this invasive exotic species and limiting its expansion.

First inspection in December 2019

On December 6 and 11, 2019, the first post-treatment follow-up of the broad-leaved paperbarks of the Space Center took place. The GEPOG teams looked closely at the crowns and stumps, estimated the leaf cover and counted the number of shoots on the stumps and trunks.
This follow-up also made it possible to take a look at the individuals treated in September when the American experts came from Florida, in order to follow their evolution, and to verify that the individual markings last over time and remain visible.

Regular visits should allow GEPOG to compare the efficacy of different treatments, and to draw conclusions about the best methods to follow to manage this invasive exotic tree.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Premier suivi des Niaoulis traités !

Le 6 et le 11 Décembre 2019, les équipes du GEPOG ont réalisé le premier suivi de contrôle des 200 niaoulis traités en novembre.

Forêt monospécifique de Niaoulis © GEPOG

Le Niaouli

Le Niaouli est considéré comme une des espèces végétales exotiques envahissantes les plus problématiques pour la conservation des savanes littorales guyanaises. Importé d’Australie, cette espèce vient assombrir les espaces ouverts et envahit les savanes. Sa capacité à résister aux feux et à produire plus de 20 000 000 de graines par an fait du Niaouli une espèce redoutable et envahissante, menaçant les savanes guyanaises.

Le protocole

Afin de connaitre la méthode de gestion optimale pour gérer correctement cette espèce, le GEPOG a effectué en novembre des tests de gestion sur 200 individus de Niaouli. Ainsi, tous les arbres identifiés ont été tronçonnés, annelés et traités à différents herbicides. Un suivi est donc ensuite effectué régulièrement afin de s’assurer de l’efficience des protocoles mis en place.

Cette opération effectuée sur des terrains du Centre Spatial dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM a pour objectif dès 2020 de mettre en avant les méthodes les plus efficaces pour gérer cette espèce exotique envahissante et limiter son expansion.

Premier contrôle en décembre 2019

Les 6 et 11 Décembre 2019, a eu lieu le premier suivi post-traitement des Niaoulis du Centre Spatial. Les équipes du GEPOG ont regardé de près les houppiers et les souches, estimé la couverture foliaire et compté le nombre de rejets sur les souches et les troncs.

Ce suivi a également permis de jeter un coup d’œil aux individus traités en septembre lors de la venue des experts américains de Floride, afin de suivre leur évolution, et de vérifier que les marquages individuels tiennent dans le temps et restent visibles.

Des passages réguliers devraient permettre au GEPOG de comparer les efficacités des différents traitements, et d’en tirer des conclusions sur les meilleurs méthodes à suivre pour gérer cet arbre exotique envahissant.