Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
40%

First predator trapping test campaign in Martinique

In April 2021, the Martinique Regional Natural Park organized a first test campaign for the mechanical trapping of predators of the White-breated thrasher in order to test the effectiveness and efficiency of the predation regulation methods described in the protocol developed by the PNRM and its partners within the framework of Life BIODIV’OM project.

A24 trap © PNRM

Installation of 10 mechanical traps

In order to optimize the preparation of the next trapping campaigns planned for the period 2021-2023, the PNRM and its local partners have started the deployment of this protocol on an experimental perimeter. To do this, 10 A24 mechanical traps were installed on the Caravelle peninsula (5 on the Pointe Rouge site + 5 on the edge of the RNNC and Château Dubuc forest).

The A24 Goodnature traps are automatic, self-contained, robust and poison-free mechanical traps. These operate using a pressurized CO2 gas canister system that is triggered when a rat or mongoose enters the trap.

Then, the monitoring of catches was carried out at regular intervals of 10 to 15 days.

Setting a trap by the PNRM © PNRM

A positive result in figures :

  • 40 days of testing
  • 10 A24 traps
  • 4 monitorings
  • 80 triggering of A24 traps
  • 75% rats and 25% mongooses (Based on previous experience feedback (Life + CAP DOM, DiSC project, ONF campaigns, etc.) and video surveillance data (camera trap).
  • 60 rats and 20 mongooses (estimate)

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
40%

Première campagne test de piégeage des prédateurs en Martinique

En avril 2021, le Parc Naturel Régional de Martinique a organisé une première campagne test de piégeage mécanique des prédateurs du Moqueur gorge blanche afin de tester l’efficacité et l’efficience des méthodes de régulation de la prédation décrites dans le protocole élaboré par le PNRM et ses partenaires dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM.

Piège A24 © PNRM

Installation de 10 pièges mécaniques

Afin d’optimiser la préparation des prochaines campagnes de piégeage prévues sur la période 2021-2023, le PNRM et ses partenaires locaux ont débuté le déploiement de ce protocole sur un périmètre expérimental. Pour cela, 10 pièges mécaniques A24 ont été installés sur la presqu’île de la Caravelle (5 sur le site de Pointe Rouge + 5 en lisière de forêt de la RNNC et du Château Dubuc).

Les pièges A24 Goodnature sont des pièges mécaniques automatiques, autonomes, robustes et sans poison. Ces derniers fonctionnent grâce à un système de bombonne de gaz de CO2 sous pression qui se déclenche lorsqu’un rat ou une mangouste entre dans le piège

Ensuite, le suivi des captures a été réalisé à intervalles réguliers de 10 à 15 jours.

Pose d’un piège par le PNRM © PNRM

Un bilan positif en chiffre

  • 40 jours de test
  • 10 pièges A24
  • 4 suivis
  • 80 déclenchements des pièges A24
  • 75% de rats et 25% de mangoustes (D’après les retours d’expérience antérieurs (Life + CAP DOM, projet DiSC, Campagnes ONF, etc.) et les données de vidéosurveillance (piège photographique).
  • 60 rats et 20 mangoustes (estimation)