Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
18%

First nests of Madagascar pond-heron for 2019

In October 2019, GEPOMAY carried out their second ULM flight in the 2019-2020 season with the aim of identifying heronries and characterizing their movements. A second flight which made it possible to rule on an early reproduction of the Madagascar pond heron by observing several nesting pairs.

ULM flight © GEPOMAY

A first flight in August

For the 2019-2020 season, a first ULM flight was conducted on August 8 and confirmed the establishment of heronry at three breeding sites among the five known. At first sight, only western cattle egrets were installed.

A second ULM flight in October

This second flight confirms the beginning of the breeding season of the species in Mayotte. The species does appear to have started breeding in the mangroves of Chiconi-Mangajou and Ironi Bé but for the moment no individuals have been observed in the mangroves of Dzoumogné, Ambato and Malamani while the species nested there last year. Several causes are suspected on the absence of the species on these sites including the disturbance such as noises. The total population may also be concentrated only at two sites this year. A later installation on these sites during the season is not excluded either.

The actions of GEPOMAY
In order to know more, GEPOMAY will carry out regular monitoring of the heronries by drone and ULM, will carry out counting of the populations present in Chiconi and Ironi Bé to see the evolution of the breeding population and will contact the structures which are monitoring the others Islands of the Indian Ocean: Asity Madagascar, Mohéli on the assumption that some individuals of the species have left Mayotte to go nesting there.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Premiers nids de Crabier blanc pour l’année 2019

En octobre 2019, le GEPOMAY a effectué leur second vol ULM de la saison 2019-2020 dans le but d’identifier les héronnières et de caractériser leurs déplacements. Un second vol qui a permis de statuer sur un début de reproduction des Crabiers blancs de par l’observation de plusieurs couples en nidification.

Vol pour le suivi des héronnières © Gilles ADT

Un premier vol effectué en août

Pour la saison 2019-2020, un premier vol ULM a été effectué le 8 aout et avait permis de confirmer l’installation de héronnières sur trois sites de reproduction parmi les cinq connus. A première vue, seuls des hérons garde bœufs étaient installés.

Un second vol ULM en octobre

Ce second vol confirme le début de la saison de reproduction de l’espèce à Mayotte. L’espèce semble effectivement avoir débuté sa reproduction dans les mangroves de Chiconi-Mangajou et Ironi Bé mais pour le moment aucun individu n’a été observé dans les mangroves de Dzoumogné, Ambato et Malamani alors que l’espèce y nichait l’année dernière. Plusieurs causes sont suspectées sur l’absence de l’espèce sur ces sites notamment le dérangement de par la présence de nuisances sonores. La population totale est peut-être également uniquement concentrée sur deux sites cette année. Une installation plus tardive sur ces sites au cours de la saison n’est pas non plus exclue.

Les actions du GEPOMAY

Afin d’en savoir davantage, le GEPOMAY réalisera le suivi régulier des héronnières par drone et ULM, effectuera des comptages des populations présentes à Chiconi et Ironi Bé pour voir l’évolution de la population nicheuse et prendra contact avec les structures de suivi des autres îles de l’Océan Indien : Asity Madagascar, Mohéli dans l’hypothèse que certains individus de l’espèce aient quitté Mayotte pour aller nicher là-bas.