Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
13%

What is a LIFE program?

Since 1992 the LIFE programme (French: L’Instrument Financier pour l’Environnement) has been the European Union’s funding instrument for projects concerning the environment and climate action.

It is aimed at both the private and public sectors and aims to promote and finance innovating projects on, for example: species and habitat conservation, soil protection, bettering air or water quality, waste management or then again mitigating and adapting to climate change.

 

LIFE overseas programmes

LIFE SIRENIA
The LIFE SIRENIA (2014-2021) project aims to reintroduce the Manatee to Guadaloupe, where it has become extinct. It also aims to monitor some ten individuals in their natural environment.

LIFE+ Pétrels
The LIFE+ Pétrels (2014-2020) project aims to prevent the extinction of species of petrel that breed only on Reunion and are threatened by introduced predators and light pollution from towns.

LIFE Forêt sèche
The LIFE+ Forêt sèche (2014-2020) project aims to preserve the dry forest of Reunion, a low altitude tropical forest of unique character that harbours numerous animal and plant species found only in this habitat.

LIFE+ CAP DOM
The LIFE+ CAP DOM (2010-2015) project was launched to prevent the extinction of several bird species in three French overseas territories. Its actions have helped populations of several species such as the Reunion marsh harrier and Reunion cuckooshrike that are unique to Reunion, the Agami heron and Guianan Cock-of-the-rock both from Guiana and the White-breasted thrasher of Martinique. Also, the Guiana dry savannas that harbour many threatened bird species where also part of this project.

LIFE+ COREXERUN
The LIFE + COREXERUN (2009-2014) European project aimed to protect the dry forest of Reunion. The project allowed for the control of invasive alien plant species and improve the dry forest with the planting of some 90 000 trees.

More about LIFE program

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
13%

Qu’est-ce qu’un programme LIFE?

Depuis 1992, le programme LIFE (L’Instrument Financier pour l’Environnement) est l’outil financier de la Commission européenne qui soutient les projets dans les domaines de l’environnement et le climat.

Il s’adresse à des porteurs de projets publics et privés et vise à promouvoir et à financer des projets innovants portant par exemple sur la conservation d’espèces et d’habitats, la protection des sols, l’amélioration de la qualité de l’air ou de l’eau, la gestion des déchets ou encore l’atténuation ou l’adaptation au changement climatique.

Depuis 1992, environ 4 000 projets ont été financés dans toute l’Europe.

 

Les programmes LIFE Outre-Mer

LIFE SIRENIA
Le projet LIFE SIRENIA (2014-2021) a pour objectif d’aboutir à la réintroduction en Guadeloupe du lamantin, espèce actuellement disparue du territoire. L’objectif est également d’assurer le suivi dans le milieu naturel d’une dizaine d’individus d’ici 2021.

LIFE+ Pétrels
Le projet LIFE+ Pétrels (2014-2020) a pour objectif de stopper l’extinction des espèces de pétrels uniquement présentes à la Réunion et menacées par les prédateurs introduits et la pollution lumineuse des villes.

LIFE Forêt sèche
Le projet LIFE+ Forêt sèche (2014-2020) a pour objectif de préserver la forêt sèche réunionnaise, forêt tropicale de basse altitude au caractère exceptionnel regroupant de nombreuses espèces animales et végétales uniquement présentes au sein de cet habitat.

LIFE+ CAP DOM
Le projet LIFE+ CAP DOM (2010-2015) a été lancé dans le but de stopper l’extinction de plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux sur trois territoires d’Outre-mer. Ces actions ont favorisé les populations de plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux telles que le Papangue et le Tuit-tuit à la Réunion, le Héron agami et le Coq de roche orange en Guyane ainsi que le Moqueur gorge-blanche en Martinique. Enfin les savanes guyanaises, accueillant de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux menacées, ont également été ciblées par ce programme.

LIFE+ COREXERUN
Le projet LIFE + COREXERUN (2009-2014) est le premier projet européen visant à protéger la forêt sèche réunionnaise. Ce projet a permis de lutter contre des espèces végétales envahissantes et de renforcer la forêt sèche via la plantation d’environ 90 000 arbres.

En savoir plus sur les programmes LIFE :

Site internet de la Commission européenne Site internet du MTES