Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
54%

What do we know about our equipped Madagascar Pond-herons?

Since 2019, the GEPOMAY, in partnership with the LPO and the help of volunteers, has carried out three telemetric equipment missions for Madagascar pond-herons. A total of 16 individuals were equipped. Since then, crucial data have already been collected to improve knowledge of the species.

Madagascar Pond-heron – Zak Pohlen

Summary of the three missions

Between 2019 and 2021, GEPOMAY carried out three telemetric equipment missions on a total of 16 Madagascar pond-herons:

6 individuals were equipped with GPS/UHF beacons in 2019. Unfortunately, the signals have been lost to date.

2 individuals were equipped with GPS/ARGOS beacons in 2020, including one equipped the previous year who therefore changed equipment. Their signals are still followed today.

Following this success, the last 9 individuals were equipped in 2021.

The signals received now make it possible to present the movements of the last 11 individuals equipped. The first two signals that you can observe are emitted since the December 2020 mission, then nine signals are added in October 2021.

These telemetric monitorings make it possible to improve behavioral and territorial knowledge about the Madagascar pond-herons, the most threatened bird in Mayotte. This analysis also made it possible to identify a new feeding site in 2021 which is now regularly monitored and for which GEPOMAY is studying protection is necessary on this site.

Data will continue to be accumulated on these birds until the end of the project, thus potentially allowing us to provide us with additional information crucial for the protection of the species.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
54%

Que savons-nous de nos Crabiers blancs équipés ?

Depuis 2019, le GEPOMAY, en partenariat avec la LPO et l’aide de bénévoles, a réalisé trois missions d’équipement télémétrique de Crabiers blancs. Au total, 16 individus ont été équipés. Depuis, des données cruciales ont déjà pu être récoltées afin d’améliorer les connaissances sur l’espèce.
Crabier blanc – Zak Pohlen

Bilan des trois missions

Entre 2019 et 2021, le GEPOMAY a réalisé trois missions d’équipement télémétrique sur un total de 16 Crabiers blancs :

Les signaux reçus permettent aujourd’hui de présenter les déplacements des 11 derniers individus équipés. Les deux premiers signaux que vous pouvez observer sont émis depuis la mission de décembre 2020, puis s’ajoutent neuf signaux en octobre 2021.

Ces suivis télémétriques permettent d’améliorer les connaissances comportementales et territoriales au sujet du Crabier blanc, oiseau le plus menacé de Mayotte. Cette analyse a également permis d’identifier un nouveau site d’alimentation en 2021 qui fait aujourd’hui l’objet de suivis réguliers et pour lequel le GEPOMAY étude une mise en protection est nécessaire sur ce site.

Des données continueront d’être accumulées sur ces oiseaux jusqu’à la fin du projet, permettant ainsi potentiellement de nous apporter des informations complémentaires cruciales pour la protection de l’espèce.