Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

Meeting with professional fishermen in French Guiana

On 23rd August last, staff of the GEPOG met with professional fishermen focusing on the Goliath Grouper in order to present to them the program and forthcoming actions, and to obtain permission for their participation in interviews.

Meeting with professional fishermen © GEPOG

A lack of information

Despite the gathering of much data on the species’ ecology and biology in Guiana since 2007, little has been learnt of leisure or professional fishing practices here. In order to fill this lack of information and to establish exactly what was happening the GEPOG plans to interview fishermen within the remit of the Life BIODIV’OM.

Cooperative and sustainable management

One of the objectives of the Life BIODIV’OM program in Guiana was the setting up of cooperative and sustainable management of the Goliath Grouper. With this in mind, a meeting with professional fishermen concerned with Goliath Grouper fishing in waters around Kourou and the “Iles du Salut” was organised 23rd August last in order to present the program and future actions to them and obtain their agreement to be interviewed.

The Guiana regional fishing authority (the CRPMEM), a project partner, was represented by its president and its two fishery specialists. After a favourable agreement with fishermen the CRPMEM will soon start collecting data in collaboration with the GEPOG.

This time of discussion was also the occasion to encourage those present to participate in the consultation phase that will take place in 2021-2022 with the aim of collectively defining the necessary recommendations for the setting up of a sustainable management plan for the species.

An endangered species

A victim of over-fishing during the 1980s, the species is now only found in the western part of its former distribution. It is estimated that the decline in the world population is of the order of 80%.

The species also suffers from extensive degradation of its habitat such as that of the mangroves and coral reefs affected by urbanisation and global warming.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Rencontre avec les pêcheurs professionnels en Guyane

Le 23 aout dernier, les agents du GEPOG ont rencontré les pêcheurs professionnels ciblant le Mérou géant afin de leur présenter le programme, les actions à venir et obtenir leur accord pour participer à des entretiens.

Rencontre avec les pêcheurs professionnels en Guyane © GEPOG

Manque d’informations

Malgré de nombreuses données récoltées sur la génétique, le régime alimentaire et la distribution de l’espèce en Guyane grâce à un suivi de marquage mis en place dans le cadre d’une thèse de doctorat entre 2010 et 2014, les données relatives aux pratiques de pêche plaisancière et professionnelles et aux captures s’avèrent manquantes. Afin de pallier à ce manque de données, le GEPOG prévoit dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM de réaliser des entretiens avec les pêcheurs professionnels afin d’en savoir davantage.

Une gestion concertée et durable

Un des objectifs du Life BIODIV’OM en Guyane est la mise en place d’une gestion concertée et durable du mérou géant. Pour cela, une rencontre a été organisée le 23 août dernier avec les pêcheurs professionnels qui ciblent le Mérou géant dans les eaux de Kourou et Iles du Salut afin de leur présenter le programme, les actions à venir et obtenir leur accord pour participer à des entretiens.

Le Comité Régional des Pêches de Guyane (CRPMEM), collaborateur sur le projet, était représenté par son Président ainsi que ses deux ingénieurs halieutes. Après avis favorable des pêcheurs, le CRPMEM débutera donc très prochainement la collecte de données en collaboration avec le GEPOG.

Ce temps d’échange était aussi l’occasion d’encourager les personnes présentes à participer à la phase de concertation qui aura lieu en 2021-2022 et qui visera à définir collectivement les recommandations nécessaires pour la mise en place d’une gestion durable de l’espèce.

Une espèce menacée

Victime d’une pêche intensive dans les années 1980, l’espèce n’est retrouvée que dans la partie ouest de son aire de répartition. On estime que la perte de leurs effectifs représente 80% de la population mondiale.

L’espèce subit également les conséquences de la dégradation et la perte de ses habitats tels que les mangroves ou les récifs coralliens impactés par des menaces comme l’urbanisation ou le réchauffement climatique.