Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Report on the Atlantic Goliath Grouper at the Grand-Connétable Island Nature Reserve

On Saturday September 12, a scientific fishing for Atlantic Goliath Grouper took place in the Nature Reserve of Grand-Connétable Island with agents from the Reserve and GEPOG, two recreational fishermen as well as a journalist.

Filming of the report at the Grand-Connétable Reserve © GEPOG

A report on the remarkable site of the Grand-Connétable Island Nature Reserve

The Grand-Connétable Island Nature Reserve is located in French Guiana, about fifteen kilometers from the Approuague River. It stands out for its silhouette and today represents a sanctuary for seabirds and marine biodiversity. The reserve is home to emblematic species of Guyana, such as the Atlantic Goliath Grouper or the Green turtle, but also a multitude of fish species representative of the shallow waters of the Guyanese coast.

To raise awareness of this biodiversity hotspot, Pierre-Olivier Pradinaud, producer and director for the Tic Tac Prod company, therefore accompanied the officers of the Reserve during a scientific day of Atlantic Goliath Grouper fishing. His report will soon be broadcast in Les témoins d’Outre-mer, a program broadcast by France 3.

The first scientific fishery of the year to monitor the sizes of the Atlantic Goliath Grouper populations

Measurements of a fished Atlantic Goliath Grouper © GEPOG

Scientific fisheries for Atlantic Goliath Groupers are part of the management plan of the Grand-Connétable Island Nature Reserve. They make it possible to monitor the sizes of the populations present on this site. Twenty-three Atlantic Goliath Groupers were measured during this scientific fishery on Saturday, September 12. The largest Atlantic Goliath Grouper captured measured 157cm in length at the curve and 105cm in circumference, for an estimated weight of 95kg. The smallest Atlantic Goliath Grouper captured measured 84cm in curve length and 60cm in circumference, for an estimated weight of 30kg.

During these scientific fisheries, every precaution is taken so that the Atlantic Goliath Groupers can leave in the best conditions after being released. They are fished using a barbless circle hook that attaches to the jaw of the fish and can be easily unhooked, without harming the fish and affecting their vital organs. The handling is painless for the animal and the operation takes place in a few minutes so that the fish is returned to the water as quickly as possible.

The involvement of volunteer recreational fishermen in the project

To carry out these scientific fisheries, GEPOG association called on volunteer recreational fishermen who provide significant technical support to the mission. These fishermen, used to catching and releasing Atlantic Goliath Groupers, particularly in the context of fishing competitions, agree to share their know-how and participate fully in the smooth running of these scientific fisheries. Their voluntary participation is a way of involving them in the sustainable and concerted management of the species. In addition, three other scientific fisheries must be organized before the end of the year and other recreational fishermen will be asked to participate.

To find out more about the actions taken to protect the Atlantic Goliath Grouper

09/18/2020

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

Reportage sur le Mérou géant à la Réserve Naturelle de l’Île du Grand-Connétable

Samedi 12 septembre, une pêche scientifique au Mérou géant a eu lieu dans la Réserve Naturelle de l’Île du Grand-Connétable. Des agents de la Réserve et du GEPOG, deux pêcheurs plaisanciers ainsi qu’un journaliste y ont participé.

Tournage du reportage à la RNN du Grand-Connétable © GEPOG

Un reportage sur le site remarquable de la Réserve Naturelle de l’Île du Grand-Connétable

La Réserve Naturelle de l’Île du Grand-Connétable est située en Guyane française, à une quinzaine de kilomètres de l’embouchure du fleuve Approuague. Elle se distingue par sa silhouette et représente aujourd’hui un sanctuaire pour les oiseaux marins et la biodiversité marine. La réserve abrite des espèces emblématiques de Guyane, comme le Mérou géant ou la Tortue verte, mais également une multitude d’espèces de poissons représentative des eaux peu profondes des côtes guyanaises.

Pour faire connaître ce haut lieu de la biodiversité, Pierre-Olivier Pradinaud, producteur et réalisateur au sein de la société Tic Tac Prod, a donc accompagné les agents de la Réserve lors d’une journée de pêche scientifique au Mérou géant. Son reportage sera prochainement diffusé dans Les témoins d’Outre-mer, un programme transmis par France 3.

La première pêche scientifique de l’année pour suivre les tailles des populations de Mérou géant

Mesures d’un Mérou géant pêché © GEPOG

Les pêches scientifiques de Mérous géants s’inscrivent dans le plan de gestion de la Réserve Naturelle de l’Île du Grand-Connétable. Elles permettent de suivre les tailles des populations présentes sur ce site. Vingt-trois Mérous géants ont pu être mesurés lors de cette pêche scientifique du samedi 12 septembre dernier. Le plus grand Mérou géant capturé mesurait 157cm de longueur à la courbe pour 105cm de circonférence, soit un poids estimé à 95kg. Le plus petit Mérou géant capturé mesurait 84cm de longueur à la courbe pour 60cm de circonférence, soit un poids estimé à 30kg.

Lors de ces pêches scientifiques, toutes les précautions sont prises pour que les Mérous géants puissent repartir dans les meilleures conditions après avoir été relâchés. Ils sont pêchés à l’aide d’hameçon circle hook sans ardillon qui s’accrochent à la mâchoire du poisson et qui peuvent se décrocher facilement, sans que le poisson ne soit blessé et que ses organes vitaux ne soient touchés. La manipulation est sans douleur pour l’animal et l’opération se déroule en quelques minutes afin que le poisson soit remis à l’eau le plus rapidement possible.

L’implication de pêcheurs plaisanciers bénévoles au projet

Pour la réalisation de ces pêches scientifiques, le GEPOG a fait appel à des pêcheurs plaisanciers bénévoles qui apportent un soutien technique non négligeable à la mission. Ces pêcheurs, habitués à capturer et à relâcher des Mérous géants, notamment dans le cadre de concours de pêche, acceptent de partager leur savoir faire et participent pleinement au bon déroulement de ces pêches scientifiques. Leur participation bénévole est un moyen de les impliquer dans la gestion durable et concertée de l’espèce. Par ailleurs, trois autres pêches scientifiques doivent être organisées avant la fin de l’année et d’autres pêcheurs plaisanciers seront sollicités pour y participer.

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions mises en place pour protéger le Mérou géant

18/09/2020