Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Report on the White breasted thrasher in Martinique

This Monday, October 05, 2020, the Martinique Natural Park hosted journalists from France Télévisions on the National Nature Reserve of the Caravelle Peninsula (RNNC), as part of the filming of a report on the theme of species worldwide threatened, following the publication at the beginning of the year of the IUCN national red list on the fauna of Martinique. The report will be published on Saturday, October 24 on France 2.

The PNM and France TV teams in the White Breasted Thrasher habitat © Christelle BERANGER / PNRM

Focus on Invasive Alien Species

To illustrate this subject, the conservation issues of the White Breasted Thrasher (Ramphocinclus brachyurus) were presented.
The objective of this morning in the field was to take pictures in order to communicate on the one hand on the threats that locally weaken this species, and on the other hand to promote the previous actions carried out and those planned on the territory for the preserve.

The PNM and France TV teams  © Yoann BELROSE / PNRM

During this filming, several subjects were discussed, studies and conservation actions carried out in favor of the species (work of Life + CAP DOM project, scientific monitoring, etc.) but a focus was in particular on predation by Invasive Alien Species such as the Black Rat (Rattus rattus) and the Little Indian Mongoose (Urva auropunctata), as well as by other introduced mammals such as the Domestic Cat (Felis catus) and the Common Opossum known as Manicou (Didelphis marsupialis).

PNRM officers explained the impact of predation on the survival of the White Breasted Thrasher. They also underlined the importance of concrete actions to regulate predator populations and follow the evolution trends of this bird species in Martinique.

White Breasted Thrasher © Frantz DELCROIX

To this end, the mechanical trapping methodology that will be deployed within the framework of Life BIODIV’OM project was discussed. The two capture techniques using “mongoose” cages and New Zealand traps (A24) were presented. Likewise, the protocol for monitoring the reproductive success of R. brachyurus was explained and various shots illustrating these operations were taken by the film crew.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

Reportage sur le Moqueur gorge blanche en Martinique

Ce lundi 05 octobre 2020, le Parc Naturel de Martinique a accueilli des journalistes de France Télévisions sur la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de la presqu’île de la Caravelle (RNNC), dans le cadre du tournage d’un reportage sur le thème des espèces mondialement menacées, suite à la publication en début d’année de la liste rouge nationale UICN portant sur la faune de Martinique. Le reportage sera publié le Samedi 24 octobre sur France 2.

Les équipes du PNM et de France TV au cœur même de l’habitat du Moqueur gorge blanche © Christelle BERANGER/PNRM

Focus sur les Espèces Exotiques Envahissantes

Pour illustrer ce sujet, les enjeux de conservation du Moqueur gorge blanche (Ramphocinclus brachyurus) ont été présentés.

L’objectif de cette matinée de terrain était de réaliser des prises de vue afin de communiquer d’une part sur les menaces qui fragilisent localement cette espèce, et de valoriser d’autre part les actions antérieures menées et celles prévues sur le territoire pour la préserver.

Les équipes de PNM et de France TV en plein tournage © Yoann BELROSE/PNRM

Au cours de ce tournage, plusieurs sujets ont été abordées, les études et les actions de conservation menées en faveur de l’espèce (travaux du Life + CAP DOM, suivis scientifiques, etc.) mais un focus a été notamment fait sur la prédation par les Espèces Exotiques Envahissantes telles que le Rat noir (Rattus rattus) et la Petite mangouste indienne (Urva auropunctata), ainsi que par d’autres mammifères introduits comme le Chat domestique (Felis catus) et l’Opossum commun dit Manicou (Didelphis marsupialis).

Les agents du PNRM ont expliqué l’impact de la prédation sur la survie du Moqueur gorge blanche. Ils ont également souligné l’importance des actions menées concrètement afin de réguler les populations de prédateurs et de suivre les tendances d’évolution de cette espèce d’oiseau en Martinique.

Moqueur gorge blanche © Frantz DELCROIX

A cet effet, la méthodologie de piégeage mécanique qui sera déployée dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM a été abordée. Les deux techniques de capture au moyen des cages « à mangoustes » et des pièges néo-zélandais (A24) ont été présentées. De même, le protocole de suivi du succès reproducteur de R. brachyurus a été expliqué et diverses prises de vue illustrant ces opérations ont été réalisées par l’équipe de tournage.