Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

Resumption of Groupers monitoring in Saint-Martin !

In Saint-Martin, the National Natural Reserve of Saint-Martin resumes the groupers monitoring in 2020 after several weeks of confinement.

Groupers monitoring © AGRNSM

Deployed by the Association de Gestion de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin as part of Life BIODIV’OM program, grouper monitoring is carried out at 8 underwater stations, along transects set up and surveyed by agents of the National Natural Reserve who count the number of Nassau groupers and Atlantic goliath groupers observed.

Started in 2019, the association confirms the sad observation of a very weak presence of these fish on these stations and counts on the actions of Life BIODIV’OM program in Saint-Martin to modify this observation and obtain better results during the next monitoring.

Nassau grouper observed during grouper monitoring © AGRNSM

Life’s actions

As a reminder, in Saint Martin, the actions of the Life BIODIV’OM program focus on two species of grouper, the Atlantic goliath grouper and the Nassau grouper. These two species are mainly threatened by a lack of regulation in the territories with regard to fishing, the destruction of habitats such as coral reefs or climatic events.
To overcome these threats, the AGRNSM conducts consultation workshops with professional fishermen and recreational boaters in order to learn more about current fishing practices. It also produces a guide of good practices for boaters and sets up a participative network in order to collect the maximum amount of data by users of the sea and divers…

Finally, in 2019, the association began a larval recruitment protocol with the aim of strengthening knowledge of the species and also managed to put in place a new decree prohibiting fishing for the Nassau grouper and the Atlantic golitah grouper on the island of Saint-Martin for recreational sea fishing.

In 2020, the association continues the grouper monitoring as well as exploratory fishing and school interventions.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Reprise des suivis Mérous à Saint-Martin !

A Saint-Martin, la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin reprend les suivis Mérous en 2020 après plusieurs semaines de confinement.

Suivi mérous © AGRNSM

Déployés par l’Association de Gestion de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM, les suivis mérous sont effectués sur 8 stations sous-marines, le long de transects mis en place et sont prospectés en plongée sous-marine par les agents de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale qui effectuent le comptage du nombre de Mérou de Nassau et de Mérou géant observés.

Débutés en 2019, l’association confirme le triste constat d’une très faible présence de ces poissons sur ces stations et compte sur les actions du Life BIODIV’OM à Saint-Martin pour modifier ce constat et obtenir de meilleurs résultats lors des prochains comptages.

Mérou de Nassau observé pendant le suivi Mérou © AGRNSM

Les actions du Life

Pour rappel, à Saint-Martin, les actions du programme Life BIODIV’OM sont centrées sur deux espèces de mérous, le Mérou géant et le Mérou de Nassau. Ces deux espèces sont principalement menacées par un manque de réglementation sur les territoires vis-à-vis de la pêche, la destruction des habitats tels que les récifs coralliens ou les évènements climatiques.

Pour pallier à ces menaces, l’AGRNSM effectue des ateliers de concertation avec les pêcheurs professionnels et plaisanciers afin d’en savoir plus sur les pratiques de pêche actuelles. Elle réalise également un guide de bonnes pratiques pour les plaisanciers et met en place un réseau participatif afin de recueillir le maximum de données par les utilisateurs de la mer et les plongeurs…

Enfin, en 2019, l’association a débuté un protocole de recrutement larvaire dans l’objectif de renforcer les connaissances sur l’espèce et est également parvenue à mettre en place un nouvel arrêté interdisant la pêche au Mérou de Nassau et au Mérou géant sur l’île de Saint-Martin pour la pêche maritime de loisirs.

En 2020, l’association continue les suivis sur les mérous ainsi que les pêches exploratoires et les interventions scolaires.