Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
40%

Reproduction of the Madagascar pond-heron : Review 2020-2021

The mangroves of the island of Mayotte are particularly rich ecological environments. You can observe the most endangered bird species in this area: the Madagascar pond-heron. The 2021-2022 breeding season of the Madagascar pond-heron will start soon, the opportunity to take stock of the monitoring of this species by the GEPOMAY as part of Life BIODIV ‘OM project.

Monitoring and identification of Madagascar pond-heron nests within the heronries © GEPOMAY

2020-2021 review: an increase to be put into perspective

No less than 281 pairs were recorded over the 2020-2021 season, which is a larger observation than in previous years (2019-2020: 279 pairs; 2018-2019: 144 pairs; 2017-2018: 182 pairs). These numbers are still difficult to interpret and cannot be compared. Indeed, the Madagascar pond-heron monitoring protocol is constantly evolving and, again this season, new recommendations have been drawn up to improve it. The development of a precise protocol allows better observation of individuals, a reduction in bias and the assurance of obtaining comparable results from year to year thereafter.

Same conclusion with the results of the calculation of the reproductive success of this heron. The average reproductive success for the 2021-2021 season is 0.56 with 157 fledglings against 0.65 in 2019-2020 and 0.93 in 2018-2019. It is still unclear whether these figures are really down.

The main breeding site of the Madagascar pond-heron is Madagascar. This bird breeds only in 3 other islands in the world including Mayotte, a breeding ground therefore essential for the species. It is now certain that the protection actions of the Life BIODIV’OM project are relevant and necessary for the survival of the species.

Madagascar pond-heron © Gilles ADT

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
40%

Reproduction du Crabier blanc : Bilan 2020-2021

Les mangroves de l’île de Mayotte sont des milieux écologiques particulièrement riches. On peut y observer l’espèce d’oiseau la plus en danger de ce territoire : le Crabier blanc. La saison de reproduction 2021-2022 du Crabier blanc ne va pas tarder, l’occasion pour faire le bilan sur le suivi de cette espèce par le Groupe d’Etudes et de Protection des Oiseaux de MAYotte (GEPOMAY) dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM.

Suivi et identification des nids de Crabiers blancs au sein des héronnières © GEPOMAY

Bilan 2020-2021 : une hausse à relativiser

Pas moins de 281 couples ont été comptabilisés sur la saison 2020-2021, c’est une observation plus importante que les années précédentes (2019-2020 : 279 couples ; 2018-2019 : 144 couples ; 2017-2018 : 182 couples).  Ces nombres sont encore actuellement peu interprétables et non comparables. En effet, le protocole de suivi du Crabier blanc est en évolution constante et, cette saison encore, de nouvelles préconisations ont été rédigées pour l’améliorer. La mise au point d’un protocole précis permet une meilleure observation des individus, une diminution des biais et l’assurance d’obtenir des résultats comparables d’année en année pour la suite.

Même conclusion avec les résultats du calcul du succès de reproduction de ce héron. Le succès reproducteur moyen pour la saison 2021-2021 est de 0.56 avec 157 jeunes à l’envol contre 0.65 en 2019-2020 et 0.93 en 2018-2019. Il est difficile encore de savoir si ces chiffres sont réellement en baisse.

Le site principal de reproduction du Crabier blanc est Madagascar. Cet oiseau ne se reproduit que dans 3 autres îles du monde dont Mayotte, un territoire de reproduction donc primordial pour l’espèce. Il est aujourd’hui certain que les actions de protection du projet Life BIODIV’OM sont pertinentes et nécessaires pour la survie de l’espèce.

Crabier blanc © Gilles ADT