Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

The assesment tool TESSA

TESSA in figures

  • 8 ecosystem services
  • 55 method sheets
  • 3 months work
  • 6 steps
  • Used at more than 70 sites

Context:

Nature is important, not only for its aesthetic qualities but also for the benefits that people acquire from it. Over the last few decades human activities have had a huge impact on the natural environment with a consequent rapid extinction of plant and animal species. These changes have greatly influenced the way nature functions and thus benefits mankind which has resulted in certain people wanting to measure these benefits in order to demonstrate their importance and show the necessity of nature conservation.

What is TESSA?

TESSA is a toolkit for evaluating ecosystems services at the site level. Developed by BirdLife International and translated and adapted by the LPO (Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux – Birdlife partner in France) it is provided in the form of either PDF files or a printed version and is composed of method sheets, advice sheets and explicatory documents on each type of benefit.

Its objective!

This method allows for the identification and evaluation of the benefits to mankind of each site (ecosystem services), those such as food provision, water provision, flood prevention, climate regulation or mental and physical well-being.

TESSA allows two sites to be compared, one with the other, according to their different transformations so as to show the change in benefits, positive or negative, of each site compared to the engaged protection or management measures.

In the long term it could help decision makers in their land use plans due to the perceived value of protected or to-be-protected sites.

Its advantages!

TESSA was developed by a group of international scientists and is thus reliable and robust especially as the results are based on field data. Its use is entirely without charge and it has been simplified so as to be user friendly.

For who?

TESSA was developed for anyone involved in conservation (environmental professionals, reserve managers, those responsible for town and country planning, development organisations…) without any need to be competent in ecosystem services but simply have basic environmental knowledge.

Who benefits?

The present method allows the estimation of the value of the following ecosystem services: coastal protection, climate regulation, cultural services, cultivated foodstuffs, harvest of wild products, pollination, services associated with water and nature-based leisure activities.

For more information:

https://www.birdlife.org/worldwide/science/assessing-ecosystem-services-tessa

Case examples

To download the toolkit:

http://tessa.tools/

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
13%

L’outil d’évaluation TESSA

TESSA en chiffres :

8 services écosystémiques
55 fiches méthodes
3 mois de travail
6 étapes
Utilisé sur plus de 70 sites

Contexte :

La nature est importante, pas seulement pour ses qualités esthétiques mais pour tous les bénéfices que les personnes en tirent. Au cours des dernières décennies, les activités humaines ont eu un impact majeur sur l’environnement naturel ayant pour conséquence l’extinction rapide d’espèces de la faune et de la flore. Ces changements ont fortement influencé le fonctionnement de la nature et donc les bénéfices fournis à l’homme poussant ainsi certaines personnes à vouloir mesurer ces bénéfices afin de démontrer leur importance et mettre en évidence la nécessité de protéger la nature.

TESSA, qu’est-ce que c’est ?

L’outil TESSA est une boite à outil pour l’évaluation des services écosystémiques à l’échelle d’un site. Développée par Birdlife International et traduite et adaptée en français par la Ligue de Protection des Oiseaux, elle se matérialise sous forme de fichiers pdf ou en version imprimée et se compose de fiches méthodes, de fiches conseils et de documents explicatifs sur chaque type de bénéfices.

Son objectif ?

Cette méthode permet d’identifier et d’évaluer les bénéfices fournis par un site à l’Homme (services écosystémiques) tels que l’approvisionnement en nourriture, en eau, la protection contre les inondations, la régulation du climat ou le bien-être physique et mental.
L’outil TESSA permet de comparer deux sites entre eux dans des états de transformation différents afin de mettre en évidence les bénéfices apportés ou perdus par un site en fonction des actions de protection ou de gestion mises en place.
Elle permet à terme d’accompagner les décideurs dans leur plan d’aménagement des territoires, grâce à la valorisation des sites protégés ou à protéger.

Ses avantages ?

TESSA est un outil conçu par un ensemble de scientifiques internationaux, il est donc fiable et robuste car les résultats se basent sur des données de terrain. La méthode est entièrement gratuite et a été simplifiée afin que tout utilisateur puisse l’utiliser.

Pour qui ?

TESSA a été développé pour des acteurs de conservation divers et variés (professionnels de la protection de l’environnement, gestionnaires d’espaces naturels, responsables de l’aménagement du territoire, organismes de développement…) et ne nécessite pas d’être expert en services écosystémiques mais seulement d’avoir des bases en environnement.
Quels bénéfices ?
La méthode permet actuellement d’estimer la valeur des services écosystémiques suivants : la protection côtière, la régulation du climat, les services culturels, les denrées cultivées, la récolte des produits sauvages, la pollinisation, les services liés à l’eau et les loisirs basés sur la nature.

Pour plus d’informations :

www.birdlife.org/worldwide/science/assessing-ecosystem-services-tessa

Exemples de cas (pdf) :
Evaluation des services écosytémiques TESSA pour le LIFE Herbages
Evaluation des services écosytémiques TESSA sur l’île de Montserrat (Antilles)

Pour télécharger l’outil :
tessa.tools