Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Restoring wet meadows to protect the Madagascar pond-heron!

In Mayotte, GEPOMAY is embarking on the restoration of two wet meadows, a preferred habitat for the Madagascar pond-heron. The objective: to prevent the development of certain exotic plants, and to allow local biodiversity to re-establish itself.

GEPOMAY restoring wet meadows with Mlezi maore and Jardin de Mtsangamouji associations © GEPOMAY

Wet meadows in Mayotte

Wet meadow of the Ambato lagoon © Florent BIGNON

Wet meadows are occasionally or permanently flooded and reservoirs of biodiversity. Many species of birds, amphibians and reptiles, insects and plants live there, taking advantage of the presence of water. The Madagascar pond-heron, emblematic bird of the island, has taken up residence there. These habitats are also essential for human activity: they limit the effects of floods and droughts, filter water, and can serve as a grazing area.

In Mayotte, wet meadows are threatened by three types of dangers in particular:
• Invasion by certain exotic plants: these invasive species suffocate local vegetation and prevent biodiversity from developing. Insects, amphibians and birds that can no longer find food end up deserting the area.
• Waste pollution: deposits or backfill on wet meadows pollute the soil and deteriorate both vegetation and the landscape.
• Poor grazing balance: some areas are undergrazed and problematic plants grow exponentially. Conversely, some areas are too trampled, which prevents the development of vegetation.

Actions taken to protect them

Restoration work in progress © GEPOMAY

Faced with the observation of the degradation of the island’s wet meadows, GEPOMAY decided to intervene through LIFE BIODIV’OM to restore these areas.
A first restoration action was held in the Ambato lagoon in August. With the help of the Mlezi Maore association (management of green spaces in Insertion through Economic Activity) and the Jardins Mtsangamouji association, GEPOMAY organized the withdrawal of an invasive alien species: the Elephant’s ear (Colocasia esculenta, classified 4/5 in terms of invasibility). Almost 2,000 m2 have been restored, ie a quarter of the invaded area.
The following week, a similar action took place on the wet meadow of Malamani, this time to remove in particular plants of Emperor’s candlesticks (Senna alata) and Acacia mangium, both classified 3 + / 5 in terms of invasibility.
Following these actions, partnerships will be developed with breeders to set up a more regular rotation of zebus, in order to avoid under and overgrazing. The Jardin association and the Departmental Council will step up waste collection on the Ambato wet meadow. For Malamani, where embankments threaten the balance of the area, the French Biodiversity Office has taken charge of the case.

The Ambato wetland site will also be enhanced by the installation of an educational panel, which will present the biodiversity and ecosystem services provided by the wetland.

Multiple partnerships

On the Ambato lagoon, GEPOMAY, as coordinator in Mayotte of the LIFE BIODIV’OM program, is responsible for implementing actions to protect the Madagascar pond-heron. It cooperates with a local actor who works daily on the site: the Jardin M’Tsangamouji association. Actions on the lagoon are therefore carried out by these two structures, and an agreement formalized their partnership in 2020.

GEPOMAY is also joining forces with the National Botanical Conservatory of Mascarin to better understand the different habitats of the Ambato lagoon, in particular by setting up a network of permanent plots to monitor the evolution of the vegetation. Beforehand, a phyto-sociological study was carried out by Vincent Boullet, an expert in botany from Mayotte, for GEPOMAY.

Ambato lagoon, an exceptional site

Ambato Lagoon © DroneGo

Ambato lagoon is an area subject to a prefectural biotope protection decree (APB). Several environmental stakeholders (Departmental Council, Town Hall, DEAL, Botanical Conservatory, nature protection associations, etc.) participate in maintaining its protection. The site supports several types of habitat, including a wet meadow of about 1.5 ha.
The lagoon is known for its frequentation by the Madagascar pond-heron. This heron, critically endangered in Mayotte, feeds there regularly and has already nested in its mangroves in 2015, 2016 and 2018. This year, the colonies have not resettled. The objective of environmental restoration actions is thus to bring them back to Ambato.

The Madagascar pond-heron, emblematic species of the wetlands of Mayotte

The Madagascar pond-heron © Gilles ADT

The Madagascar pond-heron, Ardeola idae, is a small heron with beige brown plumage streaked with black. During the breeding season, the bird adorns itself with white plumage and a bright blue bill. This very timid species breeds only on four islands in the world: Madagascar, Aldabra, Europa and Mayotte. Due to its low distribution, the Madagascar pond-heron is classified “Endangered” on the world red list (EN, IUCN) and “Critically endangered” on the French red list (CR, IUCN).
Mayotte is the species’s second breeding site in terms of numbers (182 pairs in 2018). However the loss and degradation of wetlands, breeding and feeding sites for the species, disturbance and poaching of eggs and chicks threaten the survival of the bird on the island. Predation of eggs and young by rats is suspected, but not yet proven.

To know more :
GEPOMAY association
Since 2010, the association Bird Studies and Protection Group in Mayotte (GEPOMAY) has been carrying out monitoring to acquire knowledge on the numbers and phenology of The Madagascar pond-heron in Mayotte. The Mahorese association also coordinates a National Action Plan in favor of The Madagascar pond-heron, Ardeola idae (2019-2023) and since 2018 has been implementing a European program, the Life BIODIV’OM, coordinated nationally by the LPO, and in Mayotte by the GEPOMAY. The aim of this program is to reduce the threats facing the species: fight against poaching, awareness raising to reduce disturbances, restoration and protection of the species’s habitats.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Restaurer les prairies humides pour protéger le Crabier blanc !

A Mayotte, le GEPOMAY se lance dans la restauration de deux prairies humides, un habitat préférentiel  du Crabier blanc. L’objectif : empêcher le développement de certaines plantes exotiques, et permettre à la biodiversité locale de se réinstaller.

Action de restauration de prairies humides par les associations GEPOMAY, Mlezi maore et Jardin de Mtsangamouji © GEPOMAY

Les prairies humides à Mayotte

Prairie humide de la lagune d’Ambato © Florent BIGNON

Les prairies humides, inondées ponctuellement ou en permanence, sont des réservoirs de biodiversité. De nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux, d’amphibiens et reptiles, d’insectes et de plantes s’y développent, profitant de la présence de l’eau. Le Crabier blanc, oiseau emblématique de l’île, y a par exemple élu domicile. Ces habitats sont également indispensables à l’activité humaine : ils limitent les effets des inondations et des sécheresses, filtrent l’eau, et peuvent servir de zone de pâturage.

A Mayotte, les prairies humides sont menacées par notamment trois types de dangers :

  • L’invasion par certaines plantes exotiques : ces espèces parfois envahissantes étouffent la végétation locale et empêchent la biodiversité de se développer. Les insectes, les amphibiens et les oiseaux ne trouvant plus à manger finissent par déserter la zone.
  • La pollution par les déchets : les dépôts d’encombrants ou les remblais sur les prairies humides polluent les sols et détériorent à la fois la végétation et le paysage.
  • Le mauvais équilibre du pâturage : certaines zones sont sous-pâturées et les plantes problématiques y poussent de façon exponentielle. A l’inverse, certaines zones sont trop piétinées, ce qui empêche le développement de la végétation.

Les actions mises en place pour les protéger

Travaux de restauration en cours © GEPOMAY

Face au constat de la dégradation des prairies humides de l’île, le GEPOMAY a décidé d’intervenir à travers le LIFE BIODIV’OM pour restaurer ces espaces.

Une première action de restauration s’est tenue dans la lagune d’Ambato au mois d’août. Aidé de l’association Mlezi Maore (gestion des espaces verts en Insertion par l’Activité Economique) et de l’association Jardin, le GEPOMAY a organisé le retrait d’une espèce exotique envahissante : le Songe (Colocasia esculenta, classé 4/5 en termes d’invasibilité). Près de 2000 m2 ont été restaurés, soit un quart de la zone envahie.

La semaine suivante, une action similaire s’est tenue sur la prairie humide de Malamani, cette fois pour retirer notamment des pieds de Dartrier (Senna alata) et d’Acacia mangium, tous deux classés 3+/5 en termes d’invasibilité.

Suite à ces actions, des partenariats seront élaborés avec les éleveurs pour mettre en place une rotation plus régulière des zébus, afin d’éviter le sous et surpâturage. L’association Jardin et le Conseil Départemental accentueront les ramassages de déchets sur la prairie humide d’Ambato. Pour Malamani, où des remblais menacent l’équilibre de la zone, l’Office Français de la Biodiversité a pris en charge le dossier.

Le site de la prairie humide d’Ambato sera également valorisé par l’installation d’un panneau pédagogique, qui présentera la biodiversité et les services écosystémiques apportés par la zone humide.

Des partenariats multiples

Sur la lagune d’Ambato, le GEPOMAY, en tant que coordinateur à Mayotte du programme LIFE BIODIV’OM, est responsable de la mise en place des actions visant à protéger le Crabier blanc. Il coopère avec un acteur local qui intervient quotidiennement sur le site : l’association Jardin de M’Tsangamouji. Les actions sur la lagune sont donc menées par ces deux structures, et une convention a officialisé leur partenariat en 2020.

Le GEPOMAY s’associe également avec le Conservatoire Botanique National de Mascarin pour mieux connaitre les différents habitats de la lagune, notamment par la mise en place d’un réseau de placettes permanentes pour suivre l’évolution de la végétation. Au préalable, une étude phyto-sociologique a été réalisée par Vincent Boullet, un expert de la botanique de Mayotte, à destination du GEPOMAY.

La lagune d’Ambato, un site d’exception

Lagune d’Ambato © DroneGo

La lagune d’Ambato est une zone soumise à un arrêté préfectoral de protection de biotope (APB). Plusieurs acteurs de l’environnement (Conseil Départemental, Mairie, DEAL, Conservatoire Botanique, associations de protection de la nature…) participent au maintien de sa protection. Le site abrite plusieurs types d’habitats, dont une prairie humide d’environ 1,5 ha.

La lagune est connue pour sa fréquentation par le Crabier blanc. Ce héron menacé d’extinction à Mayotte s’y nourrit régulièrement et a déjà niché dans ses mangroves en 2015, 2016 et 2018. Cette année, les colonies ne se sont pas réinstallées. L’objectif des actions de restauration des milieux est ainsi de les faire revenir à Ambato.

Le Crabier blanc, espèce emblématique des zones humides de Mayotte

Crabier blanc © Gilles ADT

 Le Crabier blanc, Ardeola idae, est un petit héron au plumage marron beige strié de noir. Durant la période de reproduction, l’oiseau se pare d’un plumage blanc et un bec bleu vif. Cette espèce, très craintive se reproduit uniquement sur quatre îles du monde : Madagascar, Aldabra, Europa et Mayotte. Du fait de sa faible répartition, le Crabier blanc est classé « En danger d’extinction » sur la liste rouge mondiale (EN, IUCN) et « En danger critique d’extinction » sur la liste rouge française (CR, UICN).

Mayotte constitue le deuxième site de reproduction de l’espèce en termes d’effectifs (182 couples en 2018). Toutefois la perte et la dégradation des zones humides, des sites de reproduction et d’alimentation de l’espèce, le dérangement et le braconnage des œufs et des poussins menacent la survie de l’oiseau sur l’ile. La prédation des œufs et des jeunes par le rat est suspectée, mais n’est pas encore avérée.

Pour en savoir plus :

Le GEPOMAY

L’association Groupe d’Etudes et de Protection des Oiseaux à Mayotte (GEPOMAY) réalise depuis 2010 des suivis permettant d‘acquérir des connaissances sur les effectifs et la phénologie du Crabier blanc à Mayotte. L’association mahoraise coordonne également un Plan National d’Action en faveur du Crabier blanc Ardeola idae (2019-2023) et met en œuvre depuis 2018 un programme européen, le Life BIODIV’OM, coordonné nationalement par la LPO, et à Mayotte par le GEPOMAY. Ce programme a pour but de réduire les menaces auxquelles est confrontée l’espèce : lutte contre le braconnage, sensibilisation pour diminuer les dérangements, restauration et protection des habitats de l’espèce.