Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Results of the second monitoring of the treated Niaoulis!

On February 18, 2020, the GEPOG teams carried out the second monitoring follow-up on the 200 niaoulis treated in November 2019.

Seedling mat around a treated strain © Anna Stier / GEPOG

The Niaouli
The Niaouli is considered one of the most problematic invasive exotic plant species for the conservation of Guyana’s coastal savannas. Imported from Australia, this species darkens open spaces and invades savannahs. Its ability to resist fires and produce more than 20,000,000 seeds per year makes Niaouli a formidable and invasive species, threatening the Guyanese savannahs.

The protocol
In order to know the optimal management method to correctly manage this species, GEPOG carried out management tests in November 2019 on 200 individuals of Niaouli. Thus, all the trees identified were cut, annealed and treated with different herbicides. Follow-up is therefore carried out regularly to ensure the efficiency of the protocols in place. An initial inspection was carried out in December 2019.
This operation, carried out on Space Center grounds within the framework of Life BIODIV’OM, aims in 2020 to highlight the most effective methods for managing this invasive exotic species and limiting its expansion.

Second monitoring
According to the same monitoring protocol as previously, the number of shoots on the stumps and leaf cover of the crowns belonging to the ringed trees were noted and photographed.
The main result of this control is the observation for the first time of a recovery expressed by mats of seedlings under the treated trees. This phenomenon, regularly reported from other regions invaded by the species like Florida, is due to the massive release of seeds after stress.
To manage this, a master internship will work on this point using a protocol developed by Florida experts who came in 2019 to support GEPOG.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Résultats du second suivi des Niaoulis traités !

Le 18 février 2020, les équipes du GEPOG ont réalisé le second suivi de contrôle sur les 200 niaoulis traités en novembre 2019.

Tapis de plantules autour d’une souche traitée © Anna Stier/GEPOG

Le Niaouli

Le Niaouli est considéré comme une des espèces végétales exotiques envahissantes les plus problématiques pour la conservation des savanes littorales guyanaises. Importée d’Australie, cette espèce vient assombrir les espaces ouverts et envahit les savanes. Sa capacité à résister aux feux et à produire plus de 20 millions de graines par an fait du Niaouli une espèce redoutable et envahissante, menaçant les savanes guyanaises.

Le protocole

Afin de connaitre la méthode de gestion optimale pour cette espèce, le GEPOG a effectué en novembre 2019 des tests de gestion sur 200 individus de Niaouli. Ainsi, tous les arbres identifiés ont été tronçonnés, annelés et traités à différents herbicides. Un suivi est donc ensuite effectué régulièrement afin de s’assurer de l’efficience des protocoles mis en place. Un premier contrôle avait été effectué en décembre 2019.

Cette opération effectuée sur des terrains du Centre Spatial Guyanais dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM a pour objectif dès 2020 de mettre en avant les méthodes les plus efficaces pour gérer cette espèce exotique envahissante et limiter son expansion.

Second contrôle

Suivant le même protocole de suivi que précédemment, le nombre de rejets sur les souches et la couverture foliaire des houppiers appartenant aux arbres annelés ont été notés et photographiés.

Le résultat principal de ce contrôle est l’observation pour la première fois d’une reprise traduite par des tapis de plantules sous les arbres traités. Ce phénomène, régulièrement rapporté d’autres régions envahies par l’espèce comme la Floride, est dû au relargage massif de graines après un stress.

Un stagiaire en Master travaillera sur ce point en utilisant un protocole élaboré par les experts de Floride venus en 2019 soutenir le GEPOG.