Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

Return of the Madagascar pond-heron to the Ambato lagoon

Return of the Madagascar pond-heron to the Ambato lagoon on Mayotte!

Having disappeared from the breeding site two years ago, GEPOMAY was delighted to find 3 breeding pairs of Madagascar pond-heron there in early 2019.

Ambato lagoon
The Ambato lagoon is a wetland a little distance from the sea with a very small mangrove (less than 1 hectare) that was a Madagascar pond-heron breeding site until November 2016, at that time the nests were abandoned probably due to disturbance and/or poaching.

The result of concrete actions
Due to the nests being abandoned and the species leaving the site, in 2018, with IUCN aid, GEPOMAY trained “Jardin de Mtsangamouji” staff so that they could make local people aware of the need to protect the pond-heron’s habitat and of the importance of wetlands.

At the same time and in partnership with the Mayotte DEAL, action was taken by the Departmental Council, the departmental AFB services and the Mtsangamouji mairie in whose commune the lagoon occurs, to initiate the control of illegal practices.

A discovery
30th December 2018, GEPOMAY and the « Jardin de Mtsangamouji » association were pleasantly surprised to find 3 nesting pairs of Madagascar pond-heron in the lagoon mangroves. It is thought highly probable that this was the result of actions taken over the preceding months.

LIFE BIODIV’OM
Good news for a species considered endangered on a global scale by the IUCN and that has been the object of conservation actions within the framework of the LIFE BIODIV’OM project. Regular monitoring of this colony by GEPOMAY will continue in 2019 hoping that young will fledge and that they will return to nest in the future.

To find out more:
www.gepomay.fr

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
22%

Retour du Crabier blanc à la Lagune d’Ambato

Retour du Crabier blanc sur un des sites de reproduction de l’espèce !

Disparu depuis 2 ans de ce site de reproduction, le GEPOMAY a eu le plaisir d’observer 3 couples nicheurs de Crabier blanc en ce début d’année 2019.

Crabier blanc en nidification sur la lagune d’Ambato © GEPOMAY

La lagune d’Ambato

La lagune d’Ambato est une zone humide un peu éloignée de la mer, présentant une mangrove dont la surface est très restreinte (<1 ha), et qui représentait un site de reproduction du Crabier blanc jusqu’en novembre 2016, date à laquelle les nids ont été abandonnés, probablement provoqué par le dérangement et/ou le braconnage.

Le résultat d’actions concrètes

Suite à l’abandon des nids et à la disparition de l’espèce du site, le GEPOMAY a effectué en 2018, avec le soutien de l’UICN, la formation des agents de l’association « Jardin de Mtsangamouji » afin qu’ils puissent sensibiliser les populations locales à la protection de l’habitat du Crabier blanc et sur l’importance des zones humides.
En parallèle et en partenariat avec la DEAL de Mayotte, des actions de lutte contre les pratiques illégales ont été initiées par le Conseil Départemental, le service Départemental de l’AFB et la mairie de Mtsangamouji, commune dans laquelle se situe la lagune d’Ambato.

La découverte

Le 30 décembre dernier, le GEPOMAY et l’association « Jardin de Mtsangamouji » ont eu l’agréable surprise d’observer 3 couples nicheurs de Crabier blanc sur les palétuviers de la lagune. Il est fortement suspecté que cela soit le résultat des actions réalisées ces derniers mois.

Le Life BIODIV’OM

Ceci est une bonne nouvelle pour cette espèce menacée de disparition à l’échelle mondiale et qui fait l’objet d’actions de conservation dans le cadre du LIFE BIODIV’OM. Un suivi régulier de cette population par le GEPOMAY continuera en 2019 en espérant qu’ils produiront des jeunes et qu’ils reviendront nicher lors des prochaines saisons de reproduction.

Pour en savoir plus :

www.gepomay.fr