Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
18%

French Guiana

General description

French Guiana is a French region situated on the Atlantic coast of South America, between Suriname and Brazil. Covering 83 242 km², Guiana is France’s second largest region; 96 % of its area is covered with equatorial forest, some of the best preserved in the world.  Guiana’s flora and fauna represent 95% of that of France, more than 400 000 species have been recorded from its equatorial forest.

Study site

guyane-etudeFichier 1
 Key zone for marine biodiversity along the central coastline

Key zone for marine biodiversity along the central coastline

A littoral and marine zone within French territorial waters that is the only protected marine area away from the Guiana coast: the Grand-Connétable island national nature reserve covers 7852 hectares. The zone is characterised by shallow waters covering a mainly clay or sandy-clay seabed. There are also several rocky areas which are otherwise very rare between the Amazon and Orinoco deltas. These habitats are much appreciated by the Atlantic goliath grouper as well as by other emblematic species such as Guiana dolphin, Caribbean manatee, Green turtle, Giant oceanic manta ray and numerous seabirds.

 The Guiana savannahs

The Guiana savannahs

These open, mainly grassland habitats exist along the whole of the Guianan coast but are more numerous in the west than in the east, especially in Kourou, Sinnamary and Iracoubo communes that contain three-quarters of the Guinian savannahs.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Guyane

Description générale

La Guyane est une région française située sur la côte Atlantique de l’Amérique du Sud, entre le Suriname et le Brésil. D’une superficie de 83 242 km², la Guyane est la seconde région la plus grande de France dont 96% est composée de forêt équatoriale parmi les mieux conservées de la planète. Plus de 95% de la flore et de la faune française proviennent de la Guyane avec plus de 400 000 espèces recensées dans la forêt équatoriale.

Les sites d’étude

guyane-etudeFichier 1
 Zone clé de biodiversité marine du centre-littoral

Zone clé de biodiversité marine du centre-littoral

Cette zone littorale et marine fait partie des eaux territoriales françaises et comprend l’unique aire marine protégée non côtière de Guyane : la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de l’Ile du Grand-Connétable d’une superficie de 7852 ha. Cette zone est caractérisée par de faibles profondeurs sur fonds majoritairement vaseux ou sableux-vaseux. Elle présente aussi plusieurs sites rocheux qui sont extrêmement rares entre les fleuves Amazone et Orénoque. Ces habitats sont très appréciés du Mérou géant, mais aussi par de nombreuses espèces emblématiques telles que le Dauphin de Guyane, le Lamantin antillais, la Tortue verte, la Raie Manta ou de nombreux oiseaux marins.

 Les savanes de Guyane

Les savanes de Guyane

Ces milieux ouverts majoritairement herbacés sont présents sur tout le littoral guyanais mais sont plus nombreuses à l’ouest qu’à l’est du département et sont d’avantages concentrées dans les communes de Kourou, Sinnamary et Iracoubo où trois quart des savanes sont répertoriées.