Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

Mayotte

General description

Mayotte is a group of Indian Ocean islands in the Mozambique Channel, the two main islands are Grand-terre and Petite-terre. They cover 376 km², Mayotte has a length of 160 km of coral reef surrounding one of the best lagoons on Earth. The department has a rich terrestrial and marine biodiversity of both animals and plants.

Study site

 The Ambato lagoon

The Ambato lagoon

Covering 23ha, this wetland complex includes a saltwater lagoon separated from the ocean and is within an urban landscape. It also has mangroves of just one species, quite rare in Mayotte; a Malagasy pond heron breeding site. This site will be the object of a fight against the illegal growing of crops, restoration of the pond-herons feeding sites as well as a campaign to eradicate rats and the erection of an observation tower in order to watch-over the breeding site.

 The mangroves

The mangroves

A typical habitat of tropical coasts, these forests of mangrove trees that grow on the edge of or in water serve as the Malagasy pond heron breeding site. In Mayotte, the species breeds in the mangroves at Ironi-bé, Chiconi/Mangajou, Dzoumogné and Chirongui that can extend over 650 ha. These mangroves will be protected and a rat eradication programme established there.

 Lake Karihani

Lake Karihani

Lake Karihani is the only natural freshwater lake on Mayotte. It’s the species’ main feeding site, up to 112 birds were counted in November 2013 and some individuals are present most of the time.

 Hillside reservoirs

Hillside reservoirs

Built to provide drinking water, these manmade, artificial structures fill with rain water in the rainy season and alleviate the problem of a lack of water in the rivers in the dry season. They are of interest for their biodiversity, attracting many birds and are the habitat for many particular plants.

 Wet meadows

Wet meadows

Other than their role in protecting the coast and being a reservoir of water this habitat is also a favourable feeding ground for birds, notably the Malagasy pond heron. The main wet meadows are at Malamani, Tsimkoura and Tsararano.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Mayotte

Description générale

Mayotte est un ensemble d’îles de l’Océan Indien situées dans le canal du Mozambique dont les deux principales sont nommées Grande-terre et Petite-terre. D’une superficie de 376 km², Mayotte possède un récif corallien de 160 km de long qui entoure un des plus beaux lagons du monde. Le département est riche en biodiversité marine et terrestre, tant au niveau de la flore que de la faune.

Les sites d’étude

 La lagune d’Ambato

La lagune d’Ambato

D’une superficie de 23ha, ce complexe de zones humides comprend une lagune d’eau saumâtre séparée de l’océan et insérée dans un paysage urbain. Elle présente également une mangrove à palétuviers d’une seule espèce, rare sur le territoire, site de reproduction du Crabier blanc. Ce site fera notamment l’objet de lutte contre les cultures illégales, de restauration des sites d’alimentation du crabier blanc mais aussi d’actions de lutte contre le rat et de mise en place d’un mirador qui permettra de protéger ce site de reproduction.

 Les mangroves

Les mangroves

Paysage caractéristique du littoral des zones tropicales, cette forêt d'arbres appelés palétuviers poussant au bord ou dans l'eau sert de site de reproduction au Crabier blanc. A Mayotte, l’espèce niche dans les mangroves d’Ironi-bé, de Chiconi/Mangajou, de Dzoumogné et de Chirongui pouvant s’étendre sur plus de 650 ha. Des actions de protection des sites et de lutte contre les rats seront mises en place au sein de ces mangroves. .

 Le lac Karihani

Le lac Karihani

Le lac Karihani est le seul lac naturel d’eau douce de Mayotte. Il s’agit du principal site d’alimentation de l’espèce, jusqu’à 112 individus y ont été recensés en novembre 2013 et accueille des individus en quasi-permanence.

 Les retenues collinaires

Les retenues collinaires

Créées pour les besoins en eau potable, ces zones humides artificielles se remplissent en saison des pluies et servent à pallier le manque d’eau dans les rivières en saison sèche. Elles constituent également des réservoirs de biodiversité comme en témoigne la présence de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux et une flore particulière.

 Les prairies humides

Les prairies humides

Outre leur rôle de protection du littoral et de stockage d’eau, ces prairies offrent également des sites d’alimentation favorables à l’avifaune, notamment le Crabier blanc. Les principales sont les prairies humides de Malamani, Tsimkoura et Tsararano.