Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
24%

Encouraging results for the Nassau grouper

A new study by the Grouper Moon Project has demonstrated the recovery of Nassau grouper populations in the Cayman Islands in response to management actions that have been implemented by the government.

Nassau grouper © Dr Mary Gillham Archive Project

An alarming finding
The Nassau Grouper is a rather solitary species and difficult to approach. However, during the breeding season, individuals travel long distances and regroup in the tens of thousands, this is the time for “spawning”. However, these aggregations have led to their disappearance, thus facilitating their capture by fishermen targeting these breeding areas.
Due to this overfishing during the spawning seasons, most of the region’s breeding areas have disappeared and the only remaining ones did not contain more than 1000 individuals. In view of its state and threats to the species, the International Union for the Conservation of Nature has classified the species as “endangered” worldwide.

Conservation actions
In view of its observation at the regional level, the government of the Cayman Islands reacts and decides to prohibit fishing on the aggregation sites during the spawning season from 2003.
Meanwhile, the Reef Environmental Education Foundation (REEF), a non-profit marine conservation organization, is launching the “Grouper Moon Project” in partnership with the Cayman Islands Department of Environment (CIDOE), to develop a monitoring method of the remaining aggregations in the Cayman Islands based on the creation of markings and video transects, thus making it possible to more precisely estimate the annual number of fish in these aggregations.
After examining the data collected by the “Grouper Moon Project” in 2016, the government is launching an even more restrictive fishing policy, prohibiting all fishing for Nassau’s grouper during the winter spawning season and imposes quotas and sizes to be respected on individuals that can be kept.

Results
In response to decisions blamed by the Cayman Islands government, the current Grouper Moon Project study shows that the population of Nassau Groupers has more than tripled in 10 years. In Little Cayman, the aggregate population increased from approximately 1,200 individuals in 2009 to more than 7,000 in 2018.
This study is the first to show a sustainable recovery of Nassau grouper populations after the collapse induced by fishing.

Find out more – original publication

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

Succès aux Îles Caïmans pour le Mérou de Nassau

Une nouvelle étude du « Grouper Moon Project » a démontré le rétablissement des populations de mérous de Nassau dans les îles Caïmans en réponse aux actions de gestion qui ont été mises en œuvre par le gouvernement.

Mérous de Nassau © Dr Mary Gillham Archive Project

Un constat alarmant

Le Mérou de Nassau est une espèce plutôt solitaire et difficile à approcher. Cependant, en période de reproduction les individus parcourent de longues distances et se regroupent par dizaine de milliers, c’est le moment du « frai ». Cependant, ces agrégations ont entrainé leur disparition, facilitant ainsi leur capture par les pêcheurs ciblant ces zones de reproduction.

En raison de cette surpêche pendant les saisons de frai, la plupart des zones de reproduction de la région ont disparu et les seules restantes ne contenaient pas plus de 1000 individus. Au vue de son état et des menaces pesant sur l’espèce, l’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature a classé l’espèce en « danger d’extinction » au niveau mondial.

Actions de conservation

Au vue de son constat à l’échelle de la région, le gouvernement des îles Caïmans réagit et décide d’interdire la pêche sur les sites d’agrégation pendant la saison de frai à partir de 2003.

Pendant ce temps, la Reef Environmental Education Foundation (REEF), une organisation à but non lucratif de conservation marine, lance le « Grouper Moon Projet » en partenariat avec le Département de l’environnement des îles Caïmans (CIDOE), pour développer une méthode de suivi des agrégations restantes aux îles Caïmans basée sur la réalisation de marquage et de transects vidéos permettant ainsi d’estimer plus précisément le nombre annuel de poissons dans ces agrégations.

Après avoir examiné les données collectées par le « Grouper Moon Project » en 2016, le gouvernement lance une politique de pêche encore plus restrictive, interdisant toute pêche au Mérou de Nassau pendant la saison de frai hivernale et impose des quotas et des tailles à respecter sur les individus pouvant être conservés.

Résultats

En réponse aux décisions imputées par le gouvernement des îles Caïmans, l’étude actuelle du « Grouper Moon Project » démontre que la population de Mérous de Nassau a plus que triplée en 10 ans. À Little Cayman, la population agrégée est passée d’environ 1 200 individus en 2009 à plus de 7 000 en 2018.

Cette étude est la première à montrer un rétablissement durable des populations de mérous de Nassau après l’effondrement induit par la pêche.

Pour en savoir plus – Publication originale