Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
13%

Follow-up actions in Mayotte with GEPOMAY

From September 3 to 5, the Life BIODIV’OM coordination assistant carried out a mission to Mayotte in order to follow up on some actions taken. The opportunity to visit the study sites on which the actions will be set up and observe some Madagascar pond heron.

GEPOMAY team and the assistant coordinator of the Life BIODIV’OM © Florent BIGNON/LPO

National coordination

The LPO coordinates the Life BIODIV’OM program nationwide. The national coordinator of Life is in charge of ensuring the smooth running of the actions and the expenses carried out within the framework of the European program. The coordination assistant implements some actions such as actions related to the communication of the project and the deployment of associated tools but also actions related to the social, economic and ecosystem assesment of the project.

As part of the deployment of these actions, the coordination assistant carried out a mission from September 3 to 5, within GEPOMAY, a partner of Life BIODIV’OM in Mayotte, to ensure the implementation and monitoring of these actions.

The mission

During this mission, various points were discussed such as ecosystem and socio-economic services assessments, but also the project’s replicability strategy or the communication tools. This last point was discussed at length considering the arrival of a VSC communication within the GEPOMAY team.

This mission also allowed the coordinating assistant to discover the areas concerned by the Life BIODIV’OM, the Ambato Lagoon, the Dzoumogné mangrove and the Karihani Lake where some individuals of Madagascar pond heron could be observed. .

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Suivi des actions à Mayotte avec le GEPOMAY

Du 3 au 5 septembre, l’assistant de coordination du Life BIODIV’OM a effectué une mission à Mayotte dans le but de réaliser le suivi de certaines actions effectuées. L’occasion de visiter les sites d’études sur lesquelles les actions seront mises en place et d’observer quelques Crabiers blanc.

L’équipe du GEPOMAY accompagné de l’assistant de coordination du Life BIODIV’OM © Florent BIGNON/LPO

La coordination nationale

Le LPO coordonne le programme Life BIODIV’OM à l’échelle nationale. La coordinatrice nationale du Life est en charge de s’assurer du bon déroulement des actions et des dépenses effectuées dans le cadre du programme européen. L’assistant de coordination met en place certaines actions telles que les actions liées à la communication du projet et au déploiement d’outils associés mais aussi aux actions liées à l’évaluation sociale, économique et écosystémique du projet.

Dans le cadre du déploiement de ces actions, l’assistant de coordination a effectué une mission du 3 au 5 septembre 2019 au sein du GEPOMAY, partenaire du Life BIODIV’OM à Mayotte, afin d’assurer la mise en place et le suivi de ces actions.

La mission

Au cours de cette mission, divers points ont été abordés tels que les évaluations des services écosystémiques et socio-économiques mais aussi la stratégie de réplicabilité du projet ou encore les outils de communication. Ce dernier point a été longuement abordé compte-tenu de l’arrivée d’une VSC communication au sein de l’équipe du GEPOMAY.

Cette mission a également permis à l’assistant de coordination de découvrir les milieux concernés par le Life BIODIV’OM, la lagune d’Ambato, la mangrove de Dzoumogné et le Lac Karihani où certains individus de Crabiers blancs en plumage internuptial ont pu être observés.