Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Work in progress in Martinique for the identification of new IBA’s

On Monday, October 26, 2020, the PNRM organized a monitoring committee to bring together the partners and naturalist experts concerned with the territory on the theme of IBAs (Important Birds Areas). The opportunity for participants to review together the methodology developed in Reunion Island and Guyana during the Life + CAP DOM project (2010-2015).

Monitoring committee on the theme of IBAs in Martinique © PNRM

The IBA method

This method is based on the analysis of the distribution of high-stake species in order to map and characterize priority sites for the conservation of avifauna. It thus contributes to the Strategy for the creation of protected areas in the Overseas Territories, as well as to the Ecological Network of Overseas Departments (REDOM). Applied in Mayotte, Saint-Martin and Martinique during Life BIODIV’OM project, it will identify a network of priority sites of community importance in favor of birds. For this, a tutoring mission (https://www.lifebiodivom.fr/en/mission-de-tutorat-sur-la-methode-zico/) was organized by the LPO in April 2019 in the three territories concerned.

Promising thoughts

The reflections carried out at the start of the week made it possible in particular to address the following points: geographical scope of the study, local criteria for identifying IBAs, lists of bird species observable in Martinique, spatial analyzes and niche models ecological adapted to local conservation issues.

Possible solutions were also proposed concerning potentially eligible sites at the scale of the territory, in particular in the North-Caribbean sector of the island: cliffs of Bellefontaine ; western slopes of Morne Rose; natural spaces near the perimeter of the UNESCO Property (playing the role of ecological continuity between Mount Pelée and the Pitons du Nord), etc.
Discussions will continue with all the players who were unable to attend this meeting, with the aim of refining the reflections launched and validating the first stages of the methodology for identifying these IBAs. In order to meet the objectives set within the framework of this action, the PNRM and its partners are mobilizing so that the work in progress can lead to the regulatory designation of at least one of the sites identified by the end of the project.

Focus on : what is an IBA ?

The notion of “ZICO” in French (“IBA” in English, for Important Bird Area) refers to an international scientific inventory (Birdlife.org) aimed at identifying the most favorable areas for the conservation of wild birds. Within the European Union, the term ZICO stands for “Zone of Community Interest for Birds”, or even “Zone of Community Importance for Birds”.
To be classified as a ZICO/IBA, a site must meet at least one of the following conditions:
• be the habitat of one or more population (s) of species (ies) whose conservation status is recognized as being unfavorable at the international level;
• be the habitat of a large number or concentration of migratory birds, coastal birds or seabirds;
• be the habitat of a large number of species with a restricted biotope.

Generally speaking, IBAs aim to ensure the conservation and management of species.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
40%

Travaux en cours en Martinique pour l’identification de nouvelles ZICO

Le lundi 26 octobre 2020, le PNRM a organisé un comité de suivi afin de réunir les partenaires et experts naturalistes concernés du territoire sur la thématique des ZICO (Zones Importantes pour la Conservation des Oiseaux). L’occasion pour les participants de revoir ensemble la méthodologie développée à La Réunion et en Guyane durant le Life + CAP DOM (2010 – 2015).

Comité de suivi sur la thématique des ZICO en Martinique © PNRM

La méthode des ZICO

Cette méthode s’appuie sur l’analyse de la répartition des espèces à forts enjeux afin de cartographier et de caractériser les sites prioritaires pour la conservation de l’avifaune. Elle contribue ainsi à la Stratégie de création d’aires protégées en Outre-mer, ainsi qu’au Réseau Ecologique des Départements d’Outre-mer (REDOM). Appliquée à Mayotte, à Saint-Martin et en Martinique durant le Life BIODIV’OM, elle permettra d’identifier un réseau de sites prioritaires et d’importance communautaire en faveur des oiseaux. Pour cela, une mission de tutorat (https://www.lifebiodivom.fr/mission-de-tutorat-sur-la-methode-zico/) avait été organisée par la LPO en avril 2019 sur les trois territoires concernés.

Des réflexions prometteuses

Les réflexions menées en ce début de semaine ont notamment permis d’aborder les points suivants : périmètre géographique de l’étude, critères locaux d’indentification des ZICO, listes d’espèces d’oiseaux observables en Martinique, analyses spatiales et modèles de niches écologiques adaptés aux enjeux locaux de conservation.

Des pistes de solutions ont également été proposées concernant des sites potentiellement éligibles à l’échelle du territoire, en particulier dans le secteur Nord-Caraïbe de l’île : falaises de Bellefontaine (où nichent des colonies de Phaétons à bec jaune) ; versants Ouest du Morne Rose ; espaces naturels voisins du périmètre du Bien UNESCO (jouant le rôle de continuités écologiques entre la Montagne Pelée et les Pitons du Nord), etc.

Les échanges se poursuivront avec l’ensemble des acteurs n’ayant pu participer à cette réunion, dans le but d’affiner les réflexions lancées et de valider les premières étapes de la méthodologie d’identification de ces ZICO. En vue de répondre aux objectifs fixés dans le cadre de cette action, le PNRM et ses partenaires se mobilisent afin que les travaux en cours puissent aboutir à la désignation réglementaire d’au moins un des sites identifiés d’ici la fin du projet.

ZOOM : qu’est-ce qu’une ZICO ?

La notion de « ZICO » en français (« IBA » en anglais, pour Important Bird Area) renvoie à un inventaire scientifique international (Birdlife.org) visant à recenser les zones les plus favorables pour la conservation des oiseaux sauvages. Au sein de l’Union Européenne, le terme ZICO signifie « Zone d’Intérêt Communautaire pour les Oiseaux », ou encore « Zone d’Importance Communautaire pour les Oiseaux ».

Pour être classé comme ZICO, un site doit remplir au moins une des conditions suivantes :

  • être l’habitat d’une ou plusieurs population(s) d’espèce(s) dont le statut de conservation est reconnu comme étant défavorable au niveau international ;
  • être l’habitat d’un grand nombre ou d’une concentration d’oiseaux migrateurs, d’oiseaux côtiers ou d’oiseaux marins ;
  • être l’habitat d’un grand nombre d’espèces dont le biotope est restreint.

De façon générale, les ZICO visent à assurer la conservation et la gestion des espèces.