Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

A drone to limit the impact of predators on the Reunion cuckooshrike!

As part of Life BIODIV’OM, in January 2020, agents from SEOR association and Réunion National Park, associate beneficiaries of Life, accompanied by teams from the Drone Tech company tested for the first time the “Deratis’air” protocol whose objective is to control the populations of rats in areas difficult to access for humans.

First test of the “Dératis’air” protocol © SEOR

“Deratis’air” protocol
The Reunion cuckooshrike (Lalage newtoni), locally called Tuit-tuit, is present in the Roche-Ecrite Mountains, in areas accessible to humans but also in areas of difficult access on which it is impossible to deploy the conventional methods of managing the rats that threaten it.

Also, an aerial method has been developed with Drone Tech to deratify areas inaccessible to humans using a drone. Scheduled flight plans for the Tuit-tuit breeding area will be followed by a drone that will drop rat poison on the site to limit the presence of rats and thus the impact on Tuit-tuit nests.

The test
For the test, a flight plan was prepared by SEOR and programmed by Drone Tech to exterminate on a surface of 4 ha with a load of 2 kg per ha. Prior authorizations have been obtained from Réunion National Park and the National Office of Forests.

Due to a technical problem, only one flight on a 180 m line could be made. Over this distance, the defined path was then followed precisely by the drone, and the rat poison was regularly dropped, as expected. Other flights have been made to observe the dropping of the blocks, the speed of the drone to cover a given distance, the flight height, etc.

This test thus made it possible to confirm the feasibility and the reliability of the deratization by drone in natural environment. However, the transition from a prototype phase to a final version will make the drone / width unit more usable operationally.

In 2020, the effective deployment of this system should make it possible to exterminate 135 hectares of area not accessible by drone, to reach a target of 344 hectares in 2023.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Un drone pour limiter l’impact des prédateurs sur le Tuit-tuit !

Dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM, les agents de la SEOR et du Parc national de la Réunion, bénéficiaire associé du Life, accompagnés des équipes de l’entreprise Drone Tech ont testé pour la première fois le protocole « Dératis’air » dont l’objectif est de contrôler les populations de rats dans les zones difficiles d’accès pour l’Homme.

Premier test du protocole « Dératis’air » © SEOR

Dératis’air

L’Echenilleur de La Réunion (Lalage newtoni), localement appelé Tuit-tuit, est présent au sein du Massif de la Roche-Écrite, dans des zones accessibles à l’Homme mais également sur des zones d’accès difficile sur lesquelles il est impossible de déployer les méthodes classiques de gestion des rats qui le menacent.

Aussi, une méthode par voie aérienne a été développée avec l’entreprise Drone Tech afin de dératiser les zones inaccessibles à l’Homme à l’aide d’un drone. Des plans de vol programmés sur la zone de reproduction du Tuit-tuit seront suivis par un drone qui larguera du raticide sur le site pour limiter la présence des rats et ainsi l’impact sur les nids de Tuit-tuit.

Le Test

Pour le test, un plan de vol a été préparé par la SEOR et programmé par Drone Tech pour dératiser sur une surface de 4 ha avec une charge de 2 kg par ha. Les autorisations préalables ont été obtenues auprès du Parc national de la Réunion et de l’ONF.

Suite à un problème technique, seul un vol sur une ligne de 180 m a pu être réalisé. Sur cette distance, le trajet défini a alors été suivi de manière précise par le drone, et le raticide a été largué régulièrement, comme prévu. D’autres vols ont été réalisés pour observer le largage des blocs, la rapidité du drone à parcourir une distance donnée, la hauteur de vol, etc.

Ce test a ainsi permis de confirmer la faisabilité et la fiabilité de la dératisation par drone en milieu naturel. Cependant le passage d’une phase prototype à une version finale rendra l’ensemble drone/largueur plus exploitable opérationnellement.

En 2020, le déploiement effectif de ce système devrait permettre de dératiser 135 hectares de zone non accessible par drone, pour atteindre un objectif de 344 hectares en 2023.