Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

One more step towards the protection of the Ambato Lagoon!

On June 19, 2019, GEPOMAY participated in the monitoring committee of the Ambato lagoon in order to validate the perimeter of the future Prefectural Order of Biotope Protection and discuss the developments put in place on the site that will protect the Madagascar pond heron.

COPIL of the lagoon of Ambato © GEPOMAY

COPIL

A steering committee (COPIL) is composed of different members involved in the project. The committee ensures the smooth running of the operations according to the objectives and maintains a dynamic within the various actors involved.

The COPIL of the Ambato Lagoon of June 19, led by the DEAL of Mayotte, brought together the different key players of the site: the GEPOMAY, the National Botanical Conservatory of Mascarin, the County Council, the West Central Community of Communes (3CO), the local Mtsangamouji Garden Association, the Mtsangamouji deputy mayor and the municipal police. All together, the various stakeholders have successfully updated the boundaries and regulations on the site to protect this wetland, the Madagascar pond heron’s breeding site.

The lagoon of Ambato

The Ambato Lagoon is a wetland of 4.48 hectares. Mainly used for scientific explorations and animations, this one is also the place of illegal cultivations, inducing a disturbance during the breeding season of the Madagascar pond heron. After 2 years of absence, the species was observed on the breeding site in early 2019.

The Prefectural Order of Biotope Protection (APB)

Prefectural Order of Biotope Protection are regulated areas with a natural heritage of interest including protected species. They are implemented by orders made by the Departmental Prefect and aim to promote the conservation of biotopes necessary for the feeding, reproduction, rest or survival of protected species on French territory, which he The Ambato Lagoon site has had a this since 2005 but the uncertain boundaries of the site have led to difficulties in the application of the regulations.

Actions on the Ambato Lagoon

Wet meadow and Madagascar pond heron’s breeding site, Ambato Lagoon is one of the key sites identified by Life BIODIV’OM. In order to protect the species, various actions will be put in place such as the creation of a partial fence of the site and the construction of a platform.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Un pas de plus vers la protection de la Lagune d’Ambato !

Le 19 juin 2019, le GEPOMAY a participé au comité de suivi de la lagune d’Ambato afin de valider le périmètre du futur APB et discuter des aménagements mis en place sur le site qui permettront de protéger le Crabier blanc.

Comité de suivi de la lagune d’Ambato © GEPOMAY

Le COPIL

Un comité de pilotage (COPIL) est composé de différents membres impliqués dans le projet. Le comité s’assure du bon déroulé des opérations en fonction des objectifs et entretien une dynamique au sein des différents acteurs impliqués.

Le COPIL de la Lagune d’Ambato du 19 juin, animé par la DEAL de Mayotte, a permis de rassembler les différents acteurs clés du site : le GEPOMAY, le Conservatoire Botanique National de Mascarin, le Conseil Départemental, la Communauté de Communes Centre Ouest (3CO), l’Association locale Jardin de Mtsangamouji, l’adjoint au maire de Mtsangamouji et la police municipale.  Tous ensemble, les différents acteurs ont réussi à actualiser les limites et la réglementation sur le site dans le but de protéger cette zone humide, site de reproduction du Crabier blanc.

La lagune d’Ambato

La lagune d’Ambato est une zone humide de 4.48 hectares. Principalement utilisée pour des explorations scientifiques et des animations, cette dernière est également le lieu de mises en culture illégales, induisant un dérangement lors de la saison de reproduction du Crabier blanc. Après 2 ans d’absence, l’espèce a été observée sur le site en reproduction en début 2019 (www.lifebiodivom.fr/retour-crabier-blanc-lagune-ambato/ ).

L’Arrêté préfectoral de Protection Biotope (APB)

Les APB sont des espaces réglementés présentant un patrimoine naturel d’intérêt et notamment des espèces protégées. Ils sont mis en œuvre par des arrêtés pris par le Préfet de département et ont pour objectif de favoriser la conservation de biotopes nécessaires à l’alimentation, la reproduction, le repos ou la survie d’espèces protégées sur le territoire français, qu’il s’agisse de faune ou de flore.Le site de la lagune d’Ambato possède un APB depuis 2005 mais les délimitations incertaines du site ont entrainé des difficultés dans l’application de la réglementation.

Les actions sur la Lagune d’Ambato

Prairie humide et site de reproduction du Crabier blanc, la Lagune d’Ambato est un des sites clé identifié par le Life BIODIV’OM. Dans le but de protéger le Crabier blanc, différentes actions seront mises en place telles que la création d’une clôture partielle du site et la construction d’une plateforme.

www.gepomay.fr