Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

A new class made aware of the protection of groupers in Saint-Martin!

On January 18, agents from the National Natural Reserve of Saint Martin intervened in a second class at Robert Weinum high school.

Sensitization of young people to the protection of groupers © AGRNSM

In continuation of the school activities for Life BIODIV’OM, it is this time at the high school that AGRNSM agents intervened to present the students with local actions in favor of Atlantic goliath groupers and Nassau groupers.

A scientific approach made it possible to demonstrate the challenges of knowledge about the biology and ecology of fish for a better proposal of sustainable conservation solutions.

Involve local people

The implementation of school-based interventions is part of a large awareness program aimed at involving local populations and local decision-makers in the protection of endangered species.

Thus, on each territory, 6 school interventions in class and on site must be carried out every year. For the AGNRSM, these interventions began in October 2019 and new workshops were therefore carried out in November and December with elementary schools, colleges and high schools.

These interventions will take place in class but also in the field, the opportunity to discover the two species of grouper, their fragile habitats and the study and management missions of these populations.

A broader awareness program

In order to raise local awareness of the protection of the Atlantic goliath grouper and the Nassau Grouper, the AGNRSM also produced, with the help of GEPOG in Guyana, an awareness clip on the Atlantic goliath Grouper and also carried out an awareness clip of the the Nassau Grouper.
Leaflets will also be deployed locally to raise awareness and encourage them to send their data when they observe individuals of Atlantic goliath Grouper and Nassau Grouper.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
24%

Une nouvelle classe sensibilisée à la protection des mérous à Saint-Martin !

Le 18 janvier, les agents de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin sont intervenus au sein d’une classe de seconde au Lycée Robert Weinum.

Sensibilisation des jeunes à la protection des mérous © AGRNSM

Dans la continuité des animations scolaires pour le Life BIODIV’OM, c’est cette fois-ci au lycée que les agents de l’AGRNSM sont intervenus pour présenter aux élèves les actions locales en faveur des mérous géants et des mérous de Nassau.

Une approche scientifique a permis de démontrer les enjeux des connaissances sur la biologie et l’écologie des poissons pour une meilleure proposition de solutions durables de conservation.

Impliquer les populations locales

La mise en place d’interventions en milieu scolaire fait partie d’un vaste programme de sensibilisation visant à impliquer les populations locales et les décideurs locaux dans la protection des espèces menacées.

Ainsi, sur chaque territoire, 6 interventions scolaires en classe et sur site doivent être effectuées tous les ans. Pour l’AGNRSM, ces interventions ont débuté en octobre 2019 et de nouveaux ateliers ont donc été réalisés en novembre et en décembre avec les écoles élémentaires, collèges et lycées.

Ces interventions se sont dérouleront en classe mais aussi sur le terrain, l’occasion de découvrir les deux espèces de mérous, leurs fragiles habitats et les missions d’étude et de gestion de ces populations.

Un programme de sensibilisation plus large

Afin de sensibiliser davantage les locaux à la protection du Mérou géant et du Mérou de Nassau, l’AGNRSM a également réalisé avec l’aide du GEPOG en Guyane, un clip de sensibilisation sur le Mérou géant et a également effectué un clip de sensibilisation du le Mérou de Nassau.

Des dépliants seront également déployés en local afin de sensibiliser les personnes et de les inciter à faire remonter leurs données lorsqu’ils observent des individus de Mérou géant et de Mérou de Nassau.