Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
54%

A new participatory science platform is born in Overseas!

For the start of the 2022 school year, the LPO and GEPOMAY are pleased to announce the opening of the Faune-Mayotte portal, a powerful participatory science tool which, thanks to the observations of enthusiasts, will make it possible to improve the management and protection of Mayotte fauna.

Field observation – Mariane HARMAND/GEPOMAY

A network of observers to improve knowledge of wildlife

The Faune-Mayotte naturalist platform was created thanks to the European Life BIODIV’OM project. Coordinated on the territory by the GEPOMAY association and thanks to the help of several volunteer experts, it is part of the Visionature network in France and Europe.

Faune-Mayotte allows any user to enter their wildlife observations, consult them, analyze them and thus share their discoveries on the map. These observations constitute an extremely rich and available database to support expertise, protect a site, inventory species, understand the evolution of populations, etc.

Informative leaflet on the Faune-Mayotte platform

By sharing your wildlife observations, you participate in the deployment of a powerful tool for improving knowledge and the implementation of effective protection actions for the natural heritage of Mayotte!

Simply enter data and follow naturalist news

Entering data on the smartphone – Mariane HARMAND/GEPOMAY

How are observations entered?

  • on the website www.faune-mayotte.org
  • directly in the field, from your smartphone, with the NaturaList application (download links for Android or iOS)

From your terrace, during a cruise, on a boat trip or on a hike, launch the application: point to your location, select the species you have observed, add a photo and additional information if you wish. This input system is perfectly suited to amateurs and represents a considerable time saving for naturalists in the field.

What data to enter?

Observations of wild animals of course: birds, reptiles, amphibians, mammals, insects… In Mayotte, however, we invite people to use the Tsiono platform, already in place, to transmit observations concerning cetaceans, fish and marine mammals.

Is the data verified?

Each piece of data is validated by naturalist experts specializing in Mayotte fauna, volunteers or project partners such as GEPOMAY, the Indian Ocean Chiroptera Group, the Naturalists of Mayotte or the Mayotte Marine Nature Park.

Data analysis in the office – Mariane HARMAND/GEPOMAY

A new platform after French Guiana, Martinique and Reunion!

In 2012, three overseas portals were created as part of the LIFE+ CAP DOM project, coordinated by the LPO:

  • Faune-Guyane: coordinated and led by GEPOG, the platform lists more than 1 million observations and more than 1600 registered observers!
  • Faune-Reunion: coordinated and run by SEOR, the platform is home to nearly 90,000 sightings and nearly 1,000 registered observers!
  • Fauna-Martinique: the portal lists nearly 40,000 data with more than 550 registered observers.

Faune-Mayotte thus sees the light of day as part of the LIFE BIODIV’OM project. In 2022, the Faune-Saint-Barthélemy-Saint-Martin platform should also be open. A Faune-Antilles site will also be set up before the end of the LIFE project.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
54%

Une nouvelle plateforme de saisie naturaliste voit le jour en Outre-mer !

En cette rentrée 2022, la LPO et le GEPOMAY ont le plaisir de vous annoncer l’ouverture du portail Faune-Mayotte, un outil de sciences participatives puissant qui, grâce aux observations des passionnés, permettra d’améliorer la gestion et la protection de la faune mahoraise.
Observation sur le terrain – Mariane HARMAND/GEPOMAY

Un réseau d’observateurs pour améliorer les connaissances sur la faune

La plateforme naturaliste Faune-Mayotte voit le jour grâce au projet européen Life BIODIV’OM. Coordonnée sur le territoire par l’association GEPOMAY et grâce à l’aide de plusieurs experts bénévoles, elle s’inscrit dans le réseau Visionature en France et en Europe.

Faune-Mayotte permet à tout utilisateur de saisir ses observations de la faune, de les consulter, de les analyser et ainsi de partager ses découvertes sur la carte. Ces observations constituent une base données extrêmement riche et disponible pour appuyer des expertises, protéger un site, inventorier les espèces, comprendre l’évolution des populations…

Dépliant informatif sur la plateforme Faune-Mayotte

En partageant vos observations de la faune, vous participez au déploiement d’un puissant outil d’amélioration des connaissances et à la mise en place d’actions de protection efficaces en faveur du patrimoine naturel mahorais!

Saisir des données simplement et suivre l’actualité naturaliste

Saisie des données sur le smartphone – Mariane HARMAND/GEPOMAY

Comment se fait la saisie des observations ?

  • sur le site faune-mayotte.org
  • directement sur le terrain, depuis votre smartphone, avec l’application NaturaList (liens de téléchargement pour Androïd ou iOS)

Depuis votre terrasse, pendant un voulé, en sortie bateau ou en randonnée, lancez l’application : pointez votre localisation, sélectionnez l’espèce que vous avez observé, ajoutez une photo et des informations supplémentaires si vous le souhaitez. Ce système de saisie est parfaitement adapté aux amateurs et représente un gain de temps considérable pour les naturalistes sur le terrain.

Quelles espèces saisir ?

Les observations d’animaux sauvages bien sûr : oiseaux, reptiles, amphibiens, mammifères, insectes… A Mayotte, nous invitons cependant les personnes à privilégier la plateforme Tsiono, déjà en place, pour transmettre les observations concernant les cétacés, poissons et mammifères marins.

Les données sont-elles vérifiées ?

Chaque donnée est validée par des experts naturalistes spécialisés dans la faune mahoraise, bénévoles ou partenaires du projet tels que le GEPOMAY, le Groupe Chiroptères Océan Indien, les Naturalistes de Mayotte ou le Parc naturel marin de Mayotte.

Analyse des données au bureau – Mariane HARMAND/GEPOMAY

Un petit nouveau après la Guyane, la Martinique et La Réunion !

En 2012, trois portails ultramarins ont été créés dans le cadre du projet LIFE+ CAP DOM, coordonné par la LPO :

  • Faune-Guyane : coordonnée et animée par le GEPOG, la plateforme recense plus d’1 million d’observations et plus de 1600 observateurs inscrits !
  • Faune-Reunion : coordonnée et animée par la SEOR, la plateforme abrite près de 90 000 observations et près de 1000 observateurs inscrits !
  • Faune-Martinique : le portail recense près de 40 000 données avec plus de 550 observateurs inscrits.

Faune-Mayotte voit ainsi le jour dans le cadre du projet LIFE BIODIV’OM. En 2022, la plateforme Faune-Saint-Barthélemy-Saint-Martin devrait être également ouverte. Un site Faune-Antilles sera également mis en place avant la fin du projet LIFE.