Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

FOCUS on the International BirdsCarribean Congress

From 25 to 29 July 2019 took place the 22nd international congress BirdsCaribbean, organized by the Guadeloupe National Park and BirdsCaribban organization.

The PNM present in the BirdsCarribean © PNM

The BirdsCarribean

The nonprofit ornithological organization was founded in 1988 and is currently the largest regional organization dedicated to bird conservation in the Caribbean. The Caribbean is a global biodiversity hotspot with more than 513 listed bird species, of which 34% are endemic and 11% are endangered. Given the fact that birds do not have the notion of border and that many of them migrate through the Caribbean, it is advisable to network with the various actors of the Caribbean.

The International Birds Carribean Congress

BirdsCaribbean’s main mission is to protect Caribbean birds and their habitats. To this end, it implements awareness-raising, education and carries out research and conservation actions. Every two years, it organizes an international congress that brings together different avifauna stakeholders to discuss about the latest work in this area.

By attracting more than 300 visitors from Caribbean territories, the BirdsCaribbean conference represents for the Guadeloupe archipelago, the opportunity to value the conservation work implemented for more than 40 years and to position itself as a territory of excellence.
In 2019, the congress was held from 25 to 29 July 2019 at Karibea Beach Hotel – Gosier.

The Martinique Natural Park at BirdsCaribbean

An important player in the protection of the environment in the Caribbean, the PNM went to the international congress in Guadeloupe, an opportunity to exchange with their counterparts and researchers who work and study the subspecies of White breasted thrasher in St. Lucia.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

ZOOM sur le congrès international BirdsCarribean

Du 25 au 29 juillet 2019 a eu lieu le 22ème congrès international BirdsCaribbean, organisé par le Parc National de la Guadeloupe et l’organisation BirdsCaribban.

Photo des agents du PNM avec leurs homologues à Sainte-Lucie © PNM

La BirdsCarribean

L’organisation ornithologique à but non lucratif a été fondée en 1988 et est actuellement la plus grande organisation régionale dédiée à la conservation des oiseaux dans la Caraïbe. La Caraïbe est un hotspot mondial de biodiversité avec plus de 513 espèces d’oiseaux recensées dont 34% sont endémiques et 11% sont menacées. Compte-tenu du fait que les oiseaux n’ont pas la notion de frontière et que nombre d’entre-eux migrent à travers les Antilles, il convient de travailler en réseau avec les différents acteurs de la Caraïbe.

Le congrès international Birds Carribean

BirdsCaribbean a pour mission principale de protéger les oiseaux de la Caraïbe et leurs habitats. Pour cela, elle met en place des actions de sensibilisation, d’éducation et effectue des recherches et des actions de conservation. Tous les deux ans, elle organise un congrès international qui réunit différents acteurs de l’avifaune, afin de discuter et d’échanger sur les derniers travaux réalisés dans ce domaine.

En attirant plus de 300 visiteurs issus des territoires caribéens, la conférence BirdsCaribbean représente pour l’archipel guadeloupéen, l’opportunité de valoriser le travail de conservation mis en œuvre depuis plus de 40 ans et de se positionner en tant que territoire d’excellence.

En 2019, le congrès s’est tenu du 25 au 29 juillet 2019 au Karibea Beach Hotel – Gosier.

Le Parc Naturel de Martinique à la BirdsCaribbean

Acteur important au sein de la protection de l’environnement dans les Antilles, le PNM s’est rendu au congrès international en Guadeloupe, l’occasion d’échanger avec leurs homologues et des chercheurs qui travaillent et étudient la sous espèce de Moqueur gorge-blanche à Sainte-Lucie.